What's new

12", 15", 18"... don't know where to start (1 Viewer)

JerryT

Auditioning
I am new posting here, but I have been reading up on a lot of the past posts. I am also very new to the DIY idea of making speakers, so go easy on me. :)

I am currently moving into a new home that I will be building a HT room in, and am thinking about making a new sub to add to what I currently have. My system now is running a Denon AVR-3200, great reciever but I will probably upgrade to a Rotel soon, and mostly Energy eXL series speakers. My Sub is a Energy ES-10, and sounds great, but I have heard what an 18" sub sounds like and would like to see if I can get the deep bass that you feel more then hear. There are a lot of ways to make subs, and I have seen a dual-8" Carver sub that was about a 1/4 of the size of mine that put it to shame, so I know that size is not everything. What I am thinking is I want something that I can add to my room that will give me clear and rich sound for music, but the booming vibrations of movies.

The room that I am going to be building is about 8'x14'x23'. This is all in an unfinished daylight basement with concrete on two sides of the room. So there is some play in room size if need be.

The Shiva and Tempest seem to give the best bang for the buck, but I am wondering about an 18" sub. Other then the large size the enclosure, is there any real down side to building an 18" rather then a 12"?

Thanks for any help..

Jerry

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
If you're considering an 18" driver, look no further than the 18" Blueprint driver.

18"
Blueprint

Most people with rooms of your size would run a 15" Tempest with the Adire EBS alignment and a 250 watt plate amp. That combo at approx. $300 would put most sub-$1,000 subs to shame.

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member

Yeap they play loud and sound quality is a joke.

Like car motors, with loudspeakers it's all about displacement. Move more air get more sound. Have more displacement and get lower distortion.