10ft+ Component cable for the PS2 other then Monster

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Br, Aug 7, 2001.

1. Mark Br

Mark Br Extra

Hey guys,
    Finally got my PS2. I would like to use a component cable. Right now I only have a TV, but in the near future I plan on having a HT system, so I would want a component cable that would allow me to be flexibe in where I position the PS2.
    The longest cable I found was the Monster cable at 10ft. Now the monster cable is really expensive, but at the same time I want a high end cable because I plan on spending a fair amount of money on my HT system.
    so I guess I have two questions:
    1) What is the longest and best component cable to buy for the PS2. I know Monster is the most expensive, but from what I hear that doesn't make it the best.
    2) Where is the cheapest place to get that cable (USA or Canada and Internet purchase or B&M)
    3) I've never used a component cable before, Can I use regular audio cables with it?
    Thanks very much.

2. John Coleman

John Coleman Guest

Mark,
    I work for a premium audio and video cable company, Cobalt Cable, and I think I can give you a few answers.
    The component video spec calls for three, 75-Ohm RCA video cables. These cables can either be bundled together, or sepperate. I typcially use bundled cables, but I have known people who have gotten fairly decent performance from using three single RCA composite (RCA video) cables (one for each channel).
    The component video connection is typcially a high-bandwidth situation, which can be fairly demanding on cables (especially in long-cable situations). I typically put a high premium on performance of my component video cables, because, in my opinion, quality matters. There are other cables where absolute performance is not so much of an issue, but that is definitely not the case with component video cables.