What's new

1080i question (1 Viewer)

Curtis T

Grip
I'm kind of new to the whole home theater game and I'm having a difficult time figuring out what is exactly happening.

The main thing I don't really understand is why 1080i is being widely used as a form of high-definition. The interlacing idea was based on the old analog NTSC system because of limitations in bandwidth and the electronics of that day. But we are now in the period where film and video are both captured progressively , both can be transmitted or output progressively , and both can now be displayed progressively.

I can understand that 1080i could be a temporary option because many people still have analog televisions and tv stations are still broadcasting analog signals (not much longer though) so interlacing is still a part of our lives for a little bit longer. However , as soon as the full conversion to digital and in particular high-definition is over wouldn't it make sense to have every source output either 480p , 720p and eventually 1080p.

The DVD format was 480i and I always thought was because the majority of the population was still using interlaced technology. Then came progressive scan (480p) which was for the part of the population that could display a progressive image. Since the DVD format is about to make a change to the HD-DVD format my thinking would be that BluRay and HD-DVD should be either 1080p or 720p. My understanding is that the studio masters are 1080p so I could see why Hollywood may not want us to have 1080p due to piracy concerns. But then it would make sense to give us 720p. 1080i for HD-DVD makes no sense to me because interlacing is a thing of the past. I understand that a 1080i image might be a bit better than a 720p image but 1080p is on the way anyways (for displays anyways) which be better than both 720p AND 1080i. In this age , hy capture soemthing progressively , then interlacing it only to have it displayed progressively again makes no sense to me.