1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

1014 set all speakers to large!!

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by RyanJE, Mar 8, 2005.

1. RyanJE

RyanJE Second Unit

Ive recently purchased a Pioneer 1014tx with MCACC auto calibration. Im confused as to why it set all my speakers to large. Heres my specs.

L&R 42hz-20khz
    c 70hz- 20khz
    Rs&Ls 50hz-20khz

Why would it do this. I thought it was generally best to run everything at small. Also would it be matter if I ran Auto EQ first or last? I ask because I've read many opposing opinions regarding this issue. Some sat its bad to run all at small because all of the bass signals and LFE get muddled together. On the other hand it supposedly improves the mid. What do you guys think??? I dont have well trained ears yet as Im relatively new to HT. Therefore, I am highly inclined to agree with the machines measurements. Can anyone help?

2. DevinJC

DevinJC Stunt Coordinator

the 1014 almost always sets speakers with frequency responses like yours to large. Just set them to small after the MCACC, everything that the MCACC did will still be valid.

Oh assuming you have a subwoofer... which well you know. [​IMG]

3. RyanJE

RyanJE Second Unit

Ive set all too small. I cant help wonder though, why the receiver would set all to large. This thread at htguide peaked my interest.

http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthr...ght=Bookshelf.

Is there any argument as too why the 1014 would be justified in setting all to large??

4. John S

John S Producer

It is just looking for significant roll off from the speaker / channel. Just because a speaker doesn't roll off it's output til around 50hz, does not mean it is best to force it to produce those frequencies, especially at higher volume.

Actually says a lot for your speakers you using. Set them small. [​IMG]

5. MikeyWeitz

MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor