1014 and Predator

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JoeyR, Mar 3, 2005.

  1. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    Tried test running the part about Jesse's gun and my receiver is showing dolbydigital even though I have the DTS version.

    Also with 4 E30s and a EC35 center channel, I set the E30s from large to small after autoMcacc, is this correct?
     
  2. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Did you go into the Audio Menu and set it to DTS?

    DVDs do not default to DTS even if they are the DTS version (to prevent damage to equipment if somebody did not have a DTS capable reciever)... you gotta manually set it to DTS yourself in the menu
     
  3. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    Which menu nick? I know on Saving Private Ryan that option comes up, on Predator it didnt when you start the DVD
     
  4. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    audio menu
     
  5. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    Will recheck for that thanks ryan
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Do other discs with DTS do the same thing? If so, check your DVD PLAYER'S menu and make sure DTS is on and set to "bitstream".
     
  7. SteveAZ

    SteveAZ Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DTS is usually under Audio Setup or Language Selection.
     
  8. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Yeah saving private ryan had a screen before the movie for you to choose, most dont have that so you gota go into the Audio Selection/Audio Setup/Language Selection menu to change it
     
  9. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    For a few years, there were alternate editions of movies that were DTS versions. SPR is one of these movies - there were both DD and DTS versions. These are the only movies that will have the DTS or Dolby Stereo selection screen on start up, and I am pretty certain there are no new titles that are being released like (except maybe Superbit) this likely due to confusion over having two versions.

    Pretty much all DVDs will default to Dolby Stereo/surround or DD.
     

Share This Page