What's new

1014 and 2channel music (1 Viewer)

Aaron_Mum

Stunt Coordinator
Its been cool to hear about all the positives with this reciever. I'm looking for opinions on its 2channel performance. Sounds like the 1014 is quite capable for HT but how are you guys finding it performing for your 2channel needs?

I am considering it for a pair of Paradigm Monitor 7s with a sub for my two channel pleasure. I am about 60/40 music to HT so it has to give me an improvement on my low end Yamaha reciever for music.

I am also considering magnepan MMGs as a future upgrage and am hoping that the 1014 will have enough punch to drive a more demanding speaker than my M7s.

Am I asking too much from the 1014? Opinions please.

MikeGee

Second Unit
I just got the 1014 a couple days ago.. I am very new to the whole home theatre game so my opinion may be a bit bias.
My setup is 4 Athena AS-B2 bookshelf speakers and the Pioneer 1014. Maybe its my speakers which are not high end enough for it but when i finished hearing the first song i immediatly thought to myself... "This doesnt sound as good as my Logitech z-560 computer speakers" I played with the Bass/Treble settings which offered me + or - 6 for either Bass or Treble. I put bass on 2 and Treble on 6 and hands down my Logitechs have way better highs. However this receiver to me is a power house. I put the volume up to about where my computer speakers distort and i dont think the volume was even halfway.
Home audio on the other hand.. i just finished watching Requium for a Dream and the speakers seemed to play the highs alot more acceptably than i found when listening to the Stereo sound..
I must be missing somthing however because i heard it had a 5 band equalizer and i've only been able to just do very basic Bass/Treble adjustments because i dont know how to adjust further.

Scott Lawrence

Stunt Coordinator