1000 w amp for stryke AV-12 ?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Joey Skinner, Mar 4, 2004.

  1. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have an Stryke AV-12 in an 18" sealed cube with a PE 250 watt amp. The 500/1000w amps that PE has on sale now are very attractive. I was thinking about the 500w which would be perfect for my sub but for an extra $100 I could get the 1000w and be ready for a driver upgrade at a later date. Would the 1000w be too much for my current setup? The DIY bug has bit me hard so I know I'll be doing another sub project someday.
     
  2. Eric Eash

    Eric Eash Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    on a rough estimate, 500w would bottom the driver with full power under 22Hz, and 1000w, would bottom out at 33Hz. either amp would work, but i'm not a fan of overpowering subs. with certain things i have very good self control, but i don't when it comes to volume knobs. but, if you ever upgrade to a tumult, or a ported/pr enclosure, the larger amp might be worth the risk.

    eric
     
  3. Brian-K-Owens

    Brian-K-Owens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go for the larger amp. Keep the gain down and like you said, you will have it for future upgrades.

    I see on your post you are from Denton. . .me too!! Howdy neighbor.

    Brian
     
  4. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Eric, I am planning on building a ported sonosub with my av-12. Are you saying this design can handle more power than a sealed?

    Hi Brian, I'm waiting for the terrible storm that is supposed to here right about now. There have already been reports of 5 inch hail, 100mph winds and tornadoes west of here. What kind of system do you have? I have GR Research AV-3 mains, AV-3s center and AV-1 surrounds. Just had an HD satellite installed to go with my 42" Sony LCD RP tv.
     
  5. David_P

    David_P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    be aware that there have been issues with the auto-turn on feature on the PE 500/1000w amps... do a search of this forum for a post started by a fellow named Coyle.

    David
     
  6. Brian-K-Owens

    Brian-K-Owens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0


    North Creek Rhythm Unlimited's for fronts and center
    North Creek Borealis For surrounds
    (2) Adire Audio Tumults in 2.5 ft^3 sealed enclosures

    My HT. . .

    North Creek Kits

    Brian
     
  7. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, Thanks for the link. I'll probably still get the amp but now I know it might have some issues.

    Brian, NICE HT system! I'm guessing you're not in an apartment anymore; the neighbors probably wouldn't appreciate those twin Tumults as much as most of us here at the HT forum would. I couldn't help but notice the T-MAXX. RC cars are my other hobby. I race at Mikes Hobby Shop in Carrolton (check out the website, add www and .com). I actually spend more money on RC than I do on HT!
     
  8. ross ish

    ross ish Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joey

    I have the stryke av12 in a dual 4inch ported 5cubic foot sonotube driven by the 250watt PE plate amp. The 250 watt is more than enough power[​IMG] In this configuration, the stryke sonotube plays 2db louder than my SVS CS+ 16/46.
     
  9. LuisC

    LuisC Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ross,

    Can you give me an idea how long your ports are and if they are flared ones.

    Thanks,
    Max
     
  10. ross ish

    ross ish Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Luis,

    30.25inches no flair tuned to 19hz.
     
  11. LuisC

    LuisC Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ross,

    Is that length for each one?
     
  12. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    1000 wats is overkill for the av12/15 i have 1000 wats on mine and you push it into thd with out tapeing the amp. i would say 600 or 700 would do. 500 you will clip your amp befor driveing in to thd but this is ported vs sealed.
     
  13. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I'd go for a pro audio amp and use it instead of a plate amp - since you are desiring a nice little "bump" in power.
     
  14. Eric Eash

    Eric Eash Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    i try not to influence people too much, but i'm with wayne, go with a pro amp.

    eric
     
  15. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went with the PE 500w plate amp and built a 5 cu ft sonosub and it sounds great. I did have the auto on problem with the amp but PE provided a info to fix it. Just added one resistor and it's working fine.
    Thanks to all who replied,
    Joey S
     
  16. Rory Buszka

    Rory Buszka Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have info on the mod for anyone who wants it. It will have to wait until I'm back on campus (doin' the college thing) where my main computer is.
     
  17. MattD

    MattD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the Rythmic 350 Watt sub amp with my av12. It is more than enough.
     
  18. MichaelAngelo

    MichaelAngelo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW,

    I have a PE 250 on each VC of an AV15, in a 6ft enclosure,
    and it will bottom out if I get too "enthusiastic".
    HTH

    I'd go for either the 500w plate amp, or one of the 350w plates.
    again
    HTH
     

Share This Page