~$1000 budget, need help

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by JayG, Dec 7, 2003.

1. JayG

JayG Auditioning

I have approximately $1000 and I'm looking for a complete 5.1 system. I'm new to the Home Theater scene, so I don't have a whole lot to go on.

I was looking into buying the Sony DAV-FC9 HT in a box ($700), but since I never make any major purchases wihout extensive research, I started looking around, and from what I hear, that wouldn't be a very good move.

A little background, music is more important to me than movie sound, although that's important as well. I'm a classical music buff, so that will be a large part of the music I'll be listening to, if that makes any difference. I'm also into classic rock and some new rock/alternative.

I heard the Sony system I mentioned earlier at Best Buy and it impressed me, but like I said, I don't have much to compare it to. Also, at the store all the speakers and the sub were bunched together so I couldn't really get a feel for how well it does for surround.

Ideally, I want to be able to listen to both SACD and DVD Audio. I was under the impression that any DVD player could play DVD Audio, but I have seen some conflicting information, so I would appreciate it if someone could fill me in on that.

Keep in mind I need 2 main speakers, a center, 2 surrounds, a sub, an amp/receiver, and a CD/DVD player unit, and my budget is around $1000. I hope it's not out of the question to get a decent system for that much.

One of the things I liked about the Sony system is its compactness, considering much of its time will be spent in a dorm room, but size isn't a deciding factor as long as it's not huge.

I hope I've provided enough info for you guys to go on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. JohnPop

JohnPop Stunt Coordinator

3. Pablo Abularach

Pablo Abularach Supporting Actor

I would go with

JBL S26 $150 free shipping x2 = $300
    JBL S Center $130 free shiping
    Pioneer VSX-D812K $230 + shipping