$100 for Center Channel, DIY or Premade?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Alex Ray, May 18, 2004.

1. Alex Ray

Alex Ray Auditioning

I have a HK AVR 75 and 2 Klipsch RF-35's and a RSW-12.
    This is mainly a home stereo setup, but I want to get more into HT. I also read that my reciever does Dolby 3.1 which expands your music to blend to the center channel and it sounds really cool.

I have lots of background in woodworking and I could make the center channel. I also have a good bit of 5/8" MDF. I have access to a nice table saw, and just about every other hobbyist tool.

Now heres the question. Should I just buy a center channel for $100, or should I DIY? Also, do you have a link to website with an enclosure and crossover design for this?

Thanks for all the help,
    Alex

2. Michael__M

Michael__M Stunt Coordinator

In general, you would like to have your center channel matched as close as possible to your mains. Speakers are usually made to work together to make up the front array. If not, you will hear a difference in the sound of things as they cross from L to R across your stage. This is also apparent with music as the sounds from the mains would not match with your center. I would definitely look into the matching center for your mains. Unless you want to build a whole new set. [​IMG]

3. Harold Wazzu

Harold Wazzu Supporting Actor

Don't laugh [​IMG]

But if you have a Radio Shack near by they are closing out a very nice center channel made by RCA, the CS550 for $50. I have it and think it was such a good deal and all of the opinions I have read have said the same thing. You should check it out.

4. Wayne Ernst

Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

A really big "NO"