1) Yamaha RX-V1300 receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by KamW, Dec 1, 2003.

1. KamW

KamW Auditioning

I am a total HT Newbie here in Canada. I wish to return asap to good sounds for jazz/classical music. I am not so big on movies and video yet but I also hope to gradually enter that area too. I already possess 2 older Energy Connoisseur EC-6 Speakers Towers. I want to start from there and build things up as per budget. I have about $750 to burn for X-mas. I got an offer yesterday for a Yamaha Rx-v1300 receiver end-of-line at US$400 + a Panasonic DVDF-65 $150.

I would appreciate any help deciding if am doing the right thing a) withn the this receiver and speaker combination as the start-up core of a future mid-level, strictly practical i.e. "non-fanatic" system. Since am new to the lingo please give me the straight poop and botom line views based on your own experience and tech know-how. Thanks in advance.
    KamW

2. Mike Veroukis

Mike Veroukis Second Unit

Michael
    Well, the 1300 has always been a very popular seller for Yamaha. It's got a great combination of features and power and at a very attractive price. The only thing I can think to say about it is that it's last year's model. The newer RX-V1400 has now replaced the RX-V1300, featuring a bit more power, an extra 7th channel, automatic sound levels and EQ adjustment and I believe is now, for the first time in Yamaha history, THX certified. However, if you're not a big movie fanatic, then you really don't need to worry about any of that stuff, the 1300 is still a very capable receiver by today's standards. The only thing is, since the 1300 is out the door you may wanna see if you can come up with even better deals somewhere.