1 remote - 2 satellite receivers

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by KellyG, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. KellyG

    KellyG Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking for some help getting my system working the way I want it to. I have 2 Dish Network receivers (a 301 and a 510) hooked to the same tv (so I can watch live and record live at the same time) and want to use 1 remote to operate both. I have the remote for the 510 but don't have the original for the 301. I used a One-For-All but it controls both receivers now so if I turn off one they both go off.

    Can I get a remote that could address each receiver seperately? And if I can, how can I address the 301 when I don't have the original remote?

    Thanks
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,100
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    The short answer is no. It’s like asking to control two Sony DVD players (or the brand of your choice) with separate remotes.

    Bottom line, you’ll have to get receivers from two different brands, or make sure they are separated far enough apart so that aiming at one won’t activate the other.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. KellyG

    KellyG Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That can't be right. When the pair of 301 receivers were delivered they came with 2 remotes that would not work the other one because they could be addressed.
     
  4. Dean_S

    Dean_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've only seen unique addressing on RF remotes. Do these dish recvrs support RF like many D* stbs do???
     
  5. KellyG

    KellyG Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at a satellite forum I have found out they can be addressed per receiver.
     
  6. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, the dish systems can have separate remotes.

    Go to radio shack. I just saw that they are carrying original Dish remotes for non-DVR systems.
     

Share This Page