-

Jump to content



Photo

Has any one tried Sony's new prog. scan dvd player?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   TY D ROCK

TY D ROCK

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 10 1999

Posted August 11 2001 - 06:29 AM

Just wondering if anyone has tried this dvd player. Im looking to replace my toshiba sd-5109 player, THANKS

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   Dmitry

Dmitry

    Supporting Actor

  • 743 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 1998

Posted August 11 2001 - 11:55 AM

I assume you're asking about the 700P. I have it and I'm quite happy with it but if you're going to hook it up to a widescreen TV you ought to seriously consider Panasonic RP-91.
My DVDs

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   Han

Han

    Second Unit

  • 262 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 13 2001

Posted August 14 2001 - 12:58 AM

Does that player have "audio priority" and how good is it at layer change pauses?

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   John B. Holbrook

John B. Holbrook

    Agent

  • 47 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 21 2000

Posted August 14 2001 - 02:04 AM

I also am an owner of the 700P and am quite impressed and pleased with it's performance on my 61" Sony HS10 TV. It virtually has no competition at it's price point, and the video performance is as good as the far more expensive Sony 9000ES. The RP91 mentioned above is about $200.00 more but does have some additional functionality if you have a widescreen TV (I don't) or are interesed in being an early adopter of DVD-Audio (I'm not).

------------------
John Holbrook
MY DVD Collection
John Holbrook
MY DVD Collection

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   BrianBHD

BrianBHD

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 26 2001

Posted August 14 2001 - 02:22 AM

I have the Sony 700P, and it's a mixed bag. I have done a lot on analysis and found that the progressive mode is very soft. I believe it is to mask the chroma bug. I can still see it in very obvious locations when right next to the TV, but not normally. I have the new XBR450 and I have found a better picture when turning the DVD player to interlaced and using Sony's new 3:2 pulldown on the TV. It is much sharper and more color accurate.

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   Dmitry

Dmitry

    Supporting Actor

  • 743 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 1998

Posted August 14 2001 - 02:56 AM

Han, I don't know how to check to see if it has "audio priority", I don't think the manual mentions anything about it. If you know of any DVDs where audio priority has any effect, I can try to check it. The layer change is so-so.
My DVDs

#7 of 17 OFFLINE   DanG

DanG

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 142 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 19 2000

Posted August 19 2001 - 02:36 AM

No the 91 does not have "audio priority" although I have heard that by removing the 6ch cables from the back of it, this would force the player to output any DD5.1 or DTS tracks on the disc.

Until I can verify this, I would discount this as some DVD-A's have DD5.1 tracks in the DVD-V directory not mapped properly in the DVD-A table of contents area. As a result the 91 cannot "see" these tracks.

Panasonic has emailed me that they can play all DVD-A audio and Video tracks on these albums. But I believe they referring to the Video tracks on a DVD-A disc and not the DD5.1 ones.

------------------
°°°Panasonic Hi&Lo Def WebPage°°°

°°°Panasonic Hi&Lo Def WebPage°°°

#8 of 17 OFFLINE   Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer

    Producer

  • 3,759 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 1999

Posted August 19 2001 - 08:14 AM

I've had 2 Sony players with the "audio priority" feature. It does not work with the majority of dvds I've played on them. There has to be a flag on the disc for the feature to work, and most discs don't have the flag.

I have inadvertantly gotten halfway through a number of discs before noticing I was listening to pro-logic instead of DD-5.1, even though the feature was turned on.

------------------

Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.
Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.

#9 of 17 OFFLINE   Keith Mickunas

Keith Mickunas

    Screenwriter

  • 2,044 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 1998

Posted August 19 2001 - 08:48 AM

I've experienced the same thing with the audio priority on my Sony DVP-S3000. I believe it only works with DVDs manufactured by Sony or its subsidiaries, which I believe is Columbia/Tri-Star. I've gotten into the habit of checking the receiver once I start a movie to see if its in the right mode, its kind of annoying.

#10 of 17 OFFLINE   Tom Oh

Tom Oh

    Second Unit

  • 255 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 1999

Posted August 19 2001 - 01:53 PM

Brian, can you please explain the chroma bug? I have a 9000ES purchaesd in HK around May of this year.

------------------


#11 of 17 OFFLINE   Dmitry

Dmitry

    Supporting Actor

  • 743 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 1998

Posted August 19 2001 - 03:47 PM

Keith, you're probably right about the audio priority only working on Sony/Columbia Tri-Star discs. Apparently the 700 has the audio priority feature as it selected DD 5.1 track (#2) on the Fifth Element. My Pioneer 414 selects the Pro-Logic track (#1).
My DVDs

#12 of 17 OFFLINE   Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,499 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted August 20 2001 - 01:54 AM

I owned two Sony interlaced VD players before moving on to other manufacturers for progressive scanning. Since Sony's "audio priority" only worked on certain studio's discs, I found myself manually selecting/verifying the proper audio track all the time anyway. Therefore, I really do not miss this feature on the Panasonic RP-91. Now, the time remaining display feature from the Sony I definitely miss.

------------------
My DVD Collection

AFI 100 Films to watch: 40 -> 5



#13 of 17 OFFLINE   Miles_W

Miles_W

    Second Unit

  • 436 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 2000

Posted August 20 2001 - 02:08 AM

Scott,

I'm pretty sure there is time remaining available on the RP91 just buried on the 1st display menu

------------------

Miles
************************
DarkSide Member since(93)



Miles
************************
Dark side member since 93

#14 of 17 OFFLINE   BrianBHD

BrianBHD

    Agent

  • 27 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 26 2001

Posted August 20 2001 - 02:32 AM

Here's a link on the chroma error:
http://www.hometheat....ug-4-2001.html

#15 of 17 OFFLINE   Brian Shannon

Brian Shannon

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 67 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 02 1999

Posted August 20 2001 - 04:04 AM

I am using my 700 on my 36XBR400 and like it alot. For the money I am very pleased Posted Image

------------------


#16 of 17 OFFLINE   Shanthi

Shanthi

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 109 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001

Posted August 20 2001 - 04:13 AM

I have a sony 57 widescreen and 700P DVD player and I quite happy with it.


#17 of 17 OFFLINE   Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,499 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted August 20 2001 - 04:41 AM

Quote:
I'm pretty sure there is time remaining available on the RP91 just buried on the 1st display menu

Miles,

The time remaining feature you are referring to only works for DVD-Audio discs -- it is not selectable for DVD-Video. Since I am only using the player for DVD-Video, the feature is worthless for me.

------------------
My DVD Collection

AFI 100 Films to watch: 40 -> 5