-

Photo

Advice for a budget HT setup (speakers)...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic

#1 of 2 OFFLINE   george.Legeza

george.Legeza

Stunt Coordinator

• 96 posts

Posted November 23 2002 - 07:38 AM

For a while I've been using a set of cheap Sony speakers that my parents handed down to me when they upgraded their whole system. Being a poor college student I can't really afford a high-end (or even mid-range, to be honest) system, but I'd like to get rid of these Sonys since they sound absolutely horrible. I've already upgraded the receiver to a Harman Kardon AVR125 since I needed the coax, optical, and s-video inputs. I wasn't planning on replacing the speakers anytime soon, but...

...last week some relatives bought me a pair of Polk R20 bookshelf speakers as a present. I realize these aren't amazing speakers, but the increase in sound quality is unbelievable over the Sonys (I'm using the R20s as my front speakers right now) and now I want to upgrade my whole system. I can't do it all at once, but I'd like some advice on what I should do first. Right now I want to keep the R20s and the AVR125 and I'm thinking of picking up a center channel speaker next and eventually getting some floorstanding speakers for the front channel and using the R20s for surround.

Does this sound like a good idea? Or should I wait and save for the floorstanding speakers first and get the center speaker last? Any advice on what speakers I should look into to compliment the R20s? And keep in mind that I'm on a pretty limited budget. Posted Image

Thanks in advance!

#2 of 2 OFFLINE   Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins

Screenwriter

• 2,598 posts

Posted November 23 2002 - 08:32 AM

Sounds like a great idea. I would defiantly make a center speaker your first addition. After that, i would add a powered subwoofer of some sort, THEN either tower mains, or another pair of the same R20 bookshelf speakers.