What's new

Can you tell me if this is a good purchase? (1 Viewer)

Lanny_B

Second Unit
I'm a newb to all this, and this is my first surround sound setup I've saved up for. I went to my local Circuit City, and the guys were pretty cool to me. I told them I was looking to spend under 1200.00. They were very excited about the: Infinity HTS20 package of speakers (I think that's four mid speakers, a center, and a subwoofer) that dropped in price from $799 to $569.99. They compared it to the smaller Bose set of speakers and the Infinity's did sound better.
The receiver they praised was the Onkyo TXSR600 for $469.99. They said it was very simple to work with lots of options and good quality sound.
Thank you for any input.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The receiver is decent, though there have been some complaints about it's power output. For small speakers though, it should not have a problem. It can be had for $378 + shipping from Crazyeddie.com Do a search in the receivers forum, there is a TON of info on this receiver.
I'd pass on the speakers. You can get the JBL NSP-1 package plus a sub for about the same price and I feel this setup will sound better, particularly the sub.
The NSP-1 package can be had for $209, and the Sony SA-WM40 for $149 at E-tronics.com Do some searches on these two items, and you will come up with plenty of positive info. Both are good for the price.

Lanny_B

Second Unit
John, thank you for the links and references. You mentioned how cheap it would be online, and since I'm new at this, I'm still wondering if it would be better to buy local in case I need to worry about support issues. Is it a safe buy to get a receiver online? Should I be concerned about support or warrentee if I do it that way?

I would definitely consider the JBL's and Sony if you think the sound is better. Could you give me more specifics on why you would pass on the Infinity's please? I did a search on the Infinity's and haven't found much yet.