Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Monsters Inc DVD (technical issues merged thread)


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
298 replies to this topic

#1 of 299 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter



  • 2,935 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted September 16 2002 - 12:46 AM

I have a Pioneer 414 and so did the store I got it from, and it froze as I was watching it. I hoped it wouldn't do it on mine but it did. I had to scan to get past it but annoying enough. Anyone else had this problem.
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.

#2 of 299 OFFLINE   Jeff

Jeff

    Supporting Actor



  • 950 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted September 16 2002 - 12:45 AM

Probably just a defective disc. I played it on a Panasonic with no problems.

(This isn't right, why is my post at the top?)

#3 of 299 OFFLINE   Matthew Perry

Matthew Perry

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 88 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2001

Posted September 16 2002 - 02:20 AM

Is it already released in the US?

It doesn't get released in Canada until Tuesday. Posted Image

I will let you know on Tuesday.

Regards,
Matt

#4 of 299 OFFLINE   Christian Preischl

Christian Preischl

    Screenwriter



  • 1,376 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 11 2001

Posted September 16 2002 - 03:14 AM

Hi,

Apparently you're not the only one having problems in chapter 30. There's been a few threads in uk.media.dvd about this. Skipping, freezing and pixelization were some of the most common problems described, others played the disc without a glitch.

I wouldn't be surprised if this thread gets considerably longer in the next few days. It's almost like a tradition when a new Disney 2 disc set is out. Posted Image

Chris

#5 of 299 OFFLINE   Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph

    Lead Actor



  • 8,341 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 1998
  • Real Name:Neil Joseph

Posted September 16 2002 - 03:56 AM

No problems, Tosh 3108
Click and enter " T H E . H O L O D E C K "
---------------------------------------------------------
My Home Theatre "The Holodeck"

 


#6 of 299 OFFLINE   Jens Raethel

Jens Raethel

    Second Unit



  • 486 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 27 1998
  • Real Name:Jens

Posted September 16 2002 - 05:37 AM

oops!:b

#7 of 299 OFFLINE   Jens Raethel

Jens Raethel

    Second Unit



  • 486 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 27 1998
  • Real Name:Jens

Posted September 16 2002 - 05:36 AM

I have the same problem with my pioneer D-606Posted Image
Should I send it back?


#8 of 299 OFFLINE   Christian Preischl

Christian Preischl

    Screenwriter



  • 1,376 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 11 2001

Posted September 16 2002 - 10:06 PM

Okay,

this may be a bit premature, but is there a chance that mainly Pioneer players are affected? In the uk.media.dvd thread the OP has a Pioneer as well (717).

Chris

#9 of 299 OFFLINE   MattCapes

MattCapes

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 22 2001

Posted September 16 2002 - 11:18 PM

On various UK forums people have been having problems with the R1 disc - largely on Pioneer players and mainly at the layer change. It's intermittent though, as replacement copies have apparently worked fine. For what it's worth, my Pioneer 626 played it fine, though the layer change was somewhat slow.

#10 of 299 OFFLINE   Bill Laskowski

Bill Laskowski

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 27 1998

Posted September 17 2002 - 03:22 AM

U.S. version freezes at the same point on my Pioneer player--but only the widescreen version! With fullscreen, no problem. No problem either on my Toshiba player.

#11 of 299 OFFLINE   Jeremy Allin

Jeremy Allin

    Supporting Actor



  • 897 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted September 17 2002 - 06:04 AM

Hey guys!

I've been reading all about how the Canadian version of Monsters Inc. has been changed from the US version (namely dropping the full-screen version and SFX track while adding a French language track). Posted Image

I'll most likely order a copy from the States since the SFX track is very important to me. I'm wondering if anything else (for better or worse) has been changed for the Canadian version?

The thing that really urks me is that since the full-frame version was dropped, this SHOULD have left ample room for the French track (while still keeping the SFX track). Also, does anyone know if the bitrate of the video is any different on the Canadian version? Perhaps they increased it since there was all this free space on the disc?

#12 of 299 OFFLINE   Alex S

Alex S

    Second Unit



  • 480 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2000

Posted September 17 2002 - 12:48 PM

I picked up my copy today and watched it tonight on my Pioneer dvd player.

It freezes at 84.01, near the end of the movie when Mike tells Sully he has a surprise to show him.(Boo's door)

It only happens on the widesreen version.
(if it was the fullscreen version I wouldn't care)

Anyone else have this problem ?

#13 of 299 OFFLINE   Julian Lalor

Julian Lalor

    Supporting Actor



  • 976 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 1999

Posted September 17 2002 - 12:53 PM

This is probably the layer change. It freezes on my copy as well (I have the Canadian version), but only for a split second. It is jarring, however.

#14 of 299 OFFLINE   Alex S

Alex S

    Second Unit



  • 480 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2000

Posted September 17 2002 - 12:55 PM

Quote:
This is probably the layer change. It freezes on my copy as well (I have the Canadian version), but only for a split second. It is jarring, however.

Julian mine doesn't unfreeze !
It stays frozen.

#15 of 299 OFFLINE   Sean Moon

Sean Moon

    Screenwriter



  • 2,045 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 25 2001

Posted September 17 2002 - 01:11 PM

Mine forze momentarily there too, it was just the layer change. WHat player are you using?
http://doctordoom.blogspot.com

We must stand in awe of the infinite capacity of the human mind to reject the introduction of useful knowledge.

#16 of 299 OFFLINE   Adam_WM

Adam_WM

    Screenwriter



  • 1,626 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted September 17 2002 - 01:13 PM

I got about a 1 second pause on a PAN DVDRV31-UK
.

 


#17 of 299 OFFLINE   Alex S

Alex S

    Second Unit



  • 480 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2000

Posted September 17 2002 - 01:22 PM

I have a Pioneer DV-525.

I'm wondering if geting a new copy will help.
I guess it's worth a try.

#18 of 299 OFFLINE   William Waits

William Waits

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 178 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 2002

Posted September 17 2002 - 01:34 PM

Mine just goes through a continuous loop at that point that encompasses about 1 second of video. I have the Panasonic DMR-E20 DVD Recorder.

VERY ANNOYING!!! Whoever is the QA for Disney's DVDs ought to be fired!!!

Let's see:

Snow White, Tron, She's All That, Tarzan, Atlantis, Emporer's New Groove, Dinosaur, and a few others that I can't remember.

All of them had some problem with the discs in general and had to be redone. I REALLY applaud Disney for putting out great material, but if these disc won't play, it is very frustrating.

Bill

#19 of 299 OFFLINE   Alex S

Alex S

    Second Unit



  • 480 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2000

Posted September 17 2002 - 01:46 PM

I just tried it on my dvd player on my computer and it played fine.

I guess exchanging it for a new copy isn't going to help.

Posted Image

#20 of 299 OFFLINE   Craig Robertson

Craig Robertson

    Supporting Actor



  • 986 posts
  • Join Date: May 12 1999

Posted September 17 2002 - 02:03 PM

my pioneer DV-37 hangs for about a second at the layer change. at first i wasn't sure that it was gonna unhang.