-

Jump to content



Photo

Quick and hopefully basic ??? about HDTV Programming


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 Chris Paulson

Chris Paulson

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 03:25 AM

Do you need digital cable or satellite to receive HDTV broadcasts or?

#2 of 8 Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs

    Executive Producer

  • 16,725 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 1999

Posted August 20 2002 - 04:20 AM

Yes. But you can also receive HDTV over the air if you live near any stations broadcasting digital signals. Very few cable companies support HD with their so-called "digital" cable boxes, however. I don't know about Chicago's situation, though.

#3 of 8 Chris Paulson

Chris Paulson

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 06:56 AM

Ok, so it depends on whether your local network affiliate are able to broadcast in HDTV and if they did, the HD signal can be received via normal t.v. antenna or direct cable signal(nondigital)?

#4 of 8 David Judah

David Judah

    Screenwriter

  • 1,479 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 1999

Posted August 20 2002 - 07:36 AM

Sign up for a free account at TitanTV.com and it will tell you what you can receive in your area from the local affiliates.

I use a Samsung SIR-T151 HD box to pick up local HD in Albuquerqe. It was a cheap way to get some HD without having to get satellite.

DJ
Lecktor: Then how did you catch me?
Graham: You had disadvantages.
Lecktor: What disadvantages?
Graham: You're insane.

#5 of 8 Chris Paulson

Chris Paulson

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 07:58 AM

David,
Thanks for the website.
These HDTV broadcasts are run on a separate channel from the normal affiliate (cbs, cbs-hd)correct? How do I find these seperate Network HD channels?

#6 of 8 Chris Paulson

Chris Paulson

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 08:07 AM

David,
Thanks for the website.
These HDTV broadcasts are run on a separate channel from the normal affiliate (cbs, cbs-hd)correct? How do I find these seperate Network HD channels?

#7 of 8 James Stierman

James Stierman

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 88 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 21 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 08:28 AM

You can only recieve the hd network feeds thru an HD set top box that decodes off antenna, or a handfull of tv have the digital tuner built into them. I heard that samsung makes a nice hd box that will decode of an antenna. If you have a digital decoder it will pick up these feeds and display them.

#8 of 8 Chris Paulson

Chris Paulson

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted August 20 2002 - 08:31 AM

Ok, so you can get the signals through the antenna, and it is up to the box to locate and decode the local HDTV signals. Thanks everybody!