Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Is there such a thing as a S-Video splitter?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 Roberto Carlo

Roberto Carlo

    Second Unit

  • 445 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2002

Posted June 12 2002 - 12:26 AM

I want to split the S-Video feed coming out of my digital cable box. Thank you.
What are the roots that clutch, what branches grow out of this stony rubbish? Son of Man. You cannot say, or guess, for you know only a heap of broken images . . .

T.S. Eliot, The Wasteland

#2 of 9 Bill Adlhoch

Bill Adlhoch

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 128 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 18 2000

Posted June 12 2002 - 01:23 AM

radio shack has an amplified 4-way distributor for 40 bucks

works for me

#3 of 9 Dave Bennett

Dave Bennett

    Screenwriter

  • 1,167 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2000

Posted June 12 2002 - 04:28 AM

Just pickup an AV switchbox that has S-video inputs. You can get one almost anywhere for under 30 bucks.
Regards,
Dave

#4 of 9 Luc

Luc

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 234 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 1999

Posted June 12 2002 - 04:52 AM

Dave,

did the switcher degrade the signal?

Maybe Roberto was looking for an actually splitter like a Y connection rather than a switcher. The answer is yes. Would someone comment on it if you've purchased one? Price, quality of splitted signal?

#5 of 9 Roberto Carlo

Roberto Carlo

    Second Unit

  • 445 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2002

Posted June 12 2002 - 06:24 AM

Quote:
Maybe Roberto was looking for an actually splitter like a Y connection rather than a switcher. The answer is yes. Would someone comment on it if you've purchased one? Price, quality of splitted signal?


Thanks for the replies. I was thinking more along the lines of a switcher. As long as I have you here: is there a reason, theoretically at least, why using the S-Video connection coming out of the cable box would be preferable to a composite connection? I ask because I have a 2 month old Toshiba HDTV-ready RPTV with a 3D comb filter. I'm wondering if this makes a difference.
What are the roots that clutch, what branches grow out of this stony rubbish? Son of Man. You cannot say, or guess, for you know only a heap of broken images . . .

T.S. Eliot, The Wasteland

#6 of 9 Luc

Luc

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 234 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 1999

Posted June 12 2002 - 07:21 AM

Roberto,

I have Direct TV and a 43in RPTV and it does make a difference with S-Video connection with my setup. I can't comment on cable box because I never own one. In general, if you have a choice between running a S-video versus a composite, go with the S-video.

I know why I want a switcher/splitter because I want to run one line to my SVHS and another to the TV. Why, may I ask, you want to use a switcher?

#7 of 9 John Royster

John Royster

    Screenwriter

  • 1,089 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 14 2001

Posted June 12 2002 - 07:51 AM

Roberto,

As to using s-vid or composite out of a cable receiver I prefer composite. my comb filter in the mitsubishi is far superior to the one in the cable box.

Using s-vid on MY cable box shows serious dot crawl. Colors are better for sure, but I can't live with the crawl.

My box is some kind of motorola. YMMV.

Rather unusual really becaus s-video is always preferred and a good jump in quality. Just not in my case for cable.

#8 of 9 Dave Bennett

Dave Bennett

    Screenwriter

  • 1,167 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 2000

Posted June 12 2002 - 08:56 AM

I'm using an S-Video switcher(I believe it's an RCA brand that I got at Target or Walmart) for my game systems. My TV only has one S-Video input and I use the switchbox to share the input between my PS2, Gamecube, and occasionally when my brother brings his XBox over. I can't notice any signal degradation at all. Great picture and it leaves my component input free for my DVD player.
Regards,
Dave

#9 of 9 Roberto Carlo

Roberto Carlo

    Second Unit

  • 445 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 14 2002

Posted June 12 2002 - 09:39 AM

Quote:
I know why I want a switcher/splitter because I want to run one line to my SVHS and another to the TV. Why, may I ask, you want to use a switcher?


Since you askedPosted Image The cable box, a Scientific Atlanta 2200, has both an S-video and coax digital audio out. The digital out allows me to get DD 5.1 on HBO. Encore and STARZ. If I run the coax to my receiver and my s-video through my TIVO -- yes, that's the conundrum -- and then to the receiver, the audio and video will be out of sync. So, I have several choices:

One, do nothing. Two, run the s-video and coax straight from the cable box to the receiver, and run the box's composite video and analog audio to the Tivo and then to the receiver. The result is that I can watch every channel above 100 in s-video and digital sound, including 5.1 on some movies. Channels below 100 will be limited to composite and analog. The later sound option is fine, since these channels are not transmitted with digital sound, anyway.

The downside is that I won't be able to view Tivo's channel guide when using s-video because there's no s-video connection to the TIVO. No big deal there. I can get over my compulsion to constantly check the program guide when I know that listings didn't change in the last five minutes:b

THe real "issue" is watching "Enterprise" "Smallville" and "Blue Planet" using composite if s-video is supposed to be better. Hence, my inquiry. On the scale of human problems it's .000234 out of a possible billion, I know. But being an A/V guy means being obsessive, no?
What are the roots that clutch, what branches grow out of this stony rubbish? Son of Man. You cannot say, or guess, for you know only a heap of broken images . . .

T.S. Eliot, The Wasteland





Forum Nav Content I Follow