What's new

Scotch Drinkers? (1 Viewer)

Wayne Murphy

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to the world of Single malt scotches and finding the buy and try to be a little
eek.gif
expensive. I really like Dalmore and Dalwhinnie. Any other fav's?
Do you add (water....ice....straight) and why?
I like a little ice then swirl til it melts.
What are good snacks to munch while sipping? (expecting snobbish replies to that question.)
What do bottles cost in your area/country

Max Leung

Senior HTF Member
I think a bottle (750ml) of Highland Park (Orkney brand? I can't remember) costs about $35 CDN here.
Scotch was my drink of choice when I was living in Salmon Arm...A multi-millionaire friend of mine would buy all the expensive ones, and I'd get to try them.
I used to like some of the stuff. But, needless to say, I can't even smell Scotch without the requisite GAG REFLEX(tm) kicking in!
Woe is me.

Steve Owen

Second Unit
My two favorites are Balvenie DoubleWood (12 year) and Oban (14 year). I find that just a splash of water really brings out the flavor nicely especialy with the DoubleWood where you can really taste the flavors of the two casks that it was aged in. I don't really care for ice because that tends to take away the flavor and then waters it down.
And there noting, and I mean nothing, like having a fine scotch with good cigar.
-Steve
------------------
Link Removed Home Theater Gear

MikeH1

Screenwriter
Real Name
Billy
I ran into a friend I hadn't seen in some years at a wedding and we had a shot each of Rye, Rum and Vodka. Later, at the bar I asked for a couple of scotches and brought them back to the table. After some talking(and the ice in the drinks melting) we said a cheers and I swallowed this "fine" drink. I turned green and a minute later I became sick, putting my head under the table. I played the role of the wedding drunk that night and haven't touched the shit since. :)
------------------
you lose it here and your in a world of hurt...

RicP

Screenwriter