Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Power DVD and 32 bit color?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper

    Lead Actor



  • 6,504 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 1999

Posted August 17 2001 - 01:44 PM

Okey kids, bare with me, I'm now to this whole thing...

I got my first DVD-rom drive today (Toshiba) and it came with Power DVD. I installed it and ran trying out my first DVD movie playback...

And it failed.

Quote:
Error Code: F6F00018
Current display mode is not supported

Power DVD does not support the current display mode. (DDraw overlay mode is recommended)

Please lower the screen resolution and color depth, for example 800x600 with 256 colors. Or you may adjust the refresh frequency, for example 75 HZ.


I lowered to 600x800 and it worked, but looked shitty (and of course I don't want to run my comp at 800x600 when I'm usually running 1280x1024. I tried running at 32 bit and changed the refresh to 75hz and it still didn't work.

Eventually I found I can run at 1280x1024 as long as I use 16 bit color.

Is PowerDVD not able to use 32 bit color, or is it just my video card? I'm new to this whole thing, but I would imagine that most people don't have to alter all their display settings to make DVD playback on their PC work.

-Vince

------------------
Posted Image
AIM: VinceMaskeeper

Interested in moving into FRONT PROJECTION with huge 6-10 foot widescreen? Buy my whole HDTV-ready CRT based front projection system delivered, cheap! Click here


Need an introduction to home theater? Check out our FAQ and Primer!!

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Cliff Watson

Cliff Watson

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 1999

Posted August 17 2001 - 03:20 PM

Vince,

Most likely your video card drivers need updating, maybe even the DirectX version also.

Best Regards, Cliff

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Matt DeVillier

Matt DeVillier

    Supporting Actor



  • 781 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1999

Posted August 17 2001 - 05:08 PM

Vince,

software decoders work by creating an overlay surface using your video card's available memory. that surface is always in 24 bits per pixel. so Powerdvd needs ~1.5MB (960x540x24 bits) of video ram just to do the overlay, in addition to any video memory it is using to draw the desktop and any windows etc. what is likely happening to you is that your video card doesn't have enough memory to draw the desktop at 1280x1024x32 and have enough left over to do the overlay as well. 16-bit color takes a lot less memory to display and when using it you have enough left to draw the overlay as well.

though as Cliff said, it probably wouldn't hurt to make sure you have the latest video drivers for your card (what card do you have?) and latest version of directx

-Matt

------------------
My DVD collection



#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper

    Lead Actor



  • 6,504 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 1999

Posted August 18 2001 - 03:07 AM

Quote:
though as Cliff said, it probably wouldn't hurt to make sure you have the latest video drivers for your card (what card do you have?) and latest version of directx

Went to windows update and it recommended I needed new version of Direct X (version 8). Installed, didn't make any difference.


As far as videocard, it's a cheap card I bought for $5 at a garage sale Posted Image

Hercules Power Drive Terminator 128/3D GLH

That's what it says on the card.

I just assumed PowerDVD would say "your card doesn't support..." rather than "PowerDVD doesn't support..."

-Vince


------------------
Posted Image
AIM: VinceMaskeeper

Interested in moving into FRONT PROJECTION with huge 6-10 foot widescreen? Buy my whole HDTV-ready CRT based front projection system delivered, cheap! Click here


Need an introduction to home theater? Check out our FAQ and Primer!!

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Matt DeVillier

Matt DeVillier

    Supporting Actor



  • 781 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1999

Posted August 18 2001 - 05:46 AM

Vince,

IIRC, that card only has 4 or 6mb of video memory on it, so the reason I stated above is exactly why you can't run at 1280x1024x32 and watch dvds. If you're looking for a cheap upgrade, a $20 Nvidia Riva TNT based card w/16mb ram (comes in AGP or PCI) would be perfect

-Matt

------------------
My DVD collection



#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Eric Samonte

Eric Samonte

    Screenwriter



  • 1,327 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 31 1999

Posted August 18 2001 - 07:57 AM

Or add a few more bucks for neato Radeon from http://www.newegg.co....nufactory=1126

------------------
Eric Samonte
Dito sa Pilipinas..may Hom Tiyeter rin kami!




#7 of 11 OFFLINE   Gui A

Gui A

    Supporting Actor



  • 597 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 25 2000

Posted August 19 2001 - 06:07 AM

Quote:
If you're looking for a cheap upgrade, a $20 Nvidia Riva TNT based card w/16mb ram (comes in AGP or PCI) would be perfect

!#$%
Is that how much they're worth now? I paid over $250Cdn for that when it came out!
Then again, that was about two years ago.

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   brentl

brentl

    Screenwriter



  • 2,918 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 1999

Posted August 19 2001 - 04:44 PM

I don't think a PCI TNT card will work!! I Had a Viper 550 PCI and it didn't support DVD playback

Brent L

#9 of 11 OFFLINE   Iain Lambert

Iain Lambert

    Screenwriter



  • 1,347 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 07 1999

Posted August 19 2001 - 09:00 PM

Really Brent? I know my AGP TNT card worked ok, so I'm surprised that the PCI one doesn't. I agree that this sounds like a memory issue here, so getting at least a 16Mb card is a good idea.
mmm, thats odd.

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Brian Harnish

Brian Harnish

    Screenwriter



  • 1,224 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2000

Posted August 25 2001 - 12:32 PM

I have a two-year old Diamond Viper V770 32MB AGP card and it works great -- plays back DVDs at 1024 x 768. Posted Image

------------------
- Brian

My DVD Collection

Want Sliders on DVD? Then please SIGN the petition!

#11 of 11 OFFLINE   Dominik Droscher

Dominik Droscher

    Supporting Actor



  • 532 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 11 2000

Posted August 26 2001 - 12:30 AM

If you do just work on your PC and do not play any extensive 3d games I would recommend a Matrox G400 or G450. They have the best visual quality out there and have a nice feature called dual head where you can connect a second monitor on the card or even connect a TV if you do not have a second monitor. I have a G400 for 2 years now and am not planning to change it. As Matrox just started to sell the G550 you should get the card for under 50$.

DVD playback is decent if you have a CPU with more than 500 MHz.

BTW they have either 32 or 16 MB of RAM.

------------------
-Dominik Dröscher ICQ: 25318265
"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes."


[Edited last by Dominik Dröscher on August 26, 2001 at 07:31 AM]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Forum Nav Content I Follow