Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

? for Gary King about development...

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   Troy LaMont

Troy LaMont

Supporting Actor

• 852 posts

Posted August 20 2001 - 11:57 AM

What's involved in making a game widescreen? I'm familiar with the process for DVDs. Is it similiar and why aren't any major game publishers doing it? Troy ------------------ No touchy, No touchy (Kuzco)
:My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside.
:That's just something ugly people say.

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

Lead Actor

• 8,293 posts

Posted August 20 2001 - 03:28 PM

I'm not an expert, keep that in mind. They have to redo the screen so that it displays a wider image and then they need to tell the icons on screen (like a speedometer) to be their normal size as widescreen, which is why they appear crunched in 4:3 view. The way they do it is probably through mathematics. I dunno.

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Gary King

Gary King

Second Unit

• 480 posts

Posted August 20 2001 - 08:33 PM

On the Xbox, not much more is involved than simply setting the resolution to a widescreen resolution, and adjusting your viewport transform so that you don't get distortion (which is really simple). I can't imagine much more is involved than that on other consoles (assuming the hardware supports widescreen output); however, on consoles with stricter requirements on video memory, the additional framebuffer size might things more difficult for developers, depending on how they want to use the hardware.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Troy LaMont

Troy LaMont

Supporting Actor

• 852 posts

Posted August 21 2001 - 11:55 AM

Gary,