What's new

JBL NSP-1 vs. NHT Superzero (1 Viewer)

RonGat

Auditioning
Everyone,

How are you all?? THis is my first post and I'm just getting into the swing of things (and spending lots of money on HT) with my first post. I've got the reciever (Onkyo 595) and the TV (32" Wega) and now I need speakers. I've narrowed down my choice to the JBL NSP-1 package with the Sony WMA-40 Sub (~$500 on line). At onecall.com they have five NHT superzeros with a RTS800 Sound Dynamics Sub for $490. This makes the price of the two packages almost equal. I've heard that the JBL package is a great "entry level" package but the NHT's are usually discussed as if they are in a different league as the JBLs (i.e. much better). I'm really interested in the differences between the small speakers (I will be upgrading the sub fairly soon). Anyway, should I go for the NSP-1 package or the superzeros?? I listen to 80% DVD, 20% music in a 10'x 14' room.

--Ron

Sean Conklin

Screenwriter
I have experience with both speakers in question, and can definitely say the NSP-1 sounds much better than the superzero's. Now if you could move up to the superone's we may have a contest. The superzero's are too small to outperform the NSP-1. IMO

The NSP-1 is more than an entry level speaker package, these speakers sound better than a lot of speakers costing 2 to 3 times more.

According to Harmon Labs they compare to similar sized Paradigms (sic). I use N26's as mains and N24's as surrounds, N Center, and JBL PB-12, and after more than a year still have no desire to upgrade. I love the JBL sound for HT and music as well. I never did care for the sound of the superzero's, to me they sounded a little thin and weak.IMO

And welcome to the HTF!

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
NHT's are accurate and have great midrange for music.

JBL's are more efficient and dynamic.

I like my NHT's, no real experience with the JBL's outside of Best Buy.