What's new

At my wits end.... (1 Viewer)

Chopchop16

Auditioning
Real Name
David
hi guys
I am so frustrated with something I can't figure out so I thought I would ask the experts!

I have a Samsung ES8000 TV, Samsung HT5500 surround, PS4 amd a Drx890w sky box (UK)

All was working fine until I replaced the sky box.

I had an optical splitter with the PS4 and Sky box into that and the output of the splitter going to the surround sound.

All was working fine. But now I have swapped all over I am only getting 2.1 sound instead of 5.1.

All speakers are working on test mode. But only the front two speaker and sub are working.
It's driving me insane. Has anyone got any ideas or tips please?
Thanks guys!

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Davis: Is the Sky box in your system now the same box that you replaced?

I'm no expert--they'll be right behind me--but I'll take a stab that if the boxes are the same model that there must be an "audio out" setting in your menu that you might need to tweak.

Welcome to the HTF! We'll get things sorted out for ya! :welcome:

Chopchop16

Auditioning
Real Name
David
Thank you mate.
No the sky box is different.
I replaced an old Thompson one with a newer DRX890w.

The new one is HDMI-CEC compatible the old one isn't. But it doesn't make a difference if I turn off the HDMI control.
I'm at my wits end.
Also it's not because the broadcast isn't DD 5.1, I've made sure they are.

Any help is appreciated hugely mate.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
I'm still treading water while I wait for the cavalry to arrive.

Have you gone into the menu as shown on Page 90 of this manual?

it looks like maybe your optical out setting might be switchable between stereo and DD 5.1.

I know I've been given cable boxes that have not been re-set to factory defaults after they've been returned and refurbished.

Chopchop16

Auditioning
Real Name
David
Cheers fella. Tried that though.
All is set to Dolby D.