What's new

Total Newbie (1 Viewer)

Krissy111

Auditioning
Real Name
Krissy
Hi guys,

I really need some advice. I'm trying to put together a Home theater system that will not only look decent but more imporatant sound great. I've already made a start by buying the Onkyo TX-NR838 7.2-Channel Network A/V THX Receiver HDMI 2.0 HDCP 2.2. I had planned to use them with some very old Toshiba solid wood speakers that I at one time was going to get rid of and took to and audiophile store and they recommended to rework them as they thought that they were great speakers. I wanted to incorporate them into a 7.2 setup but I need some help.

Here are the specs:

Toshiba SS-X9

Enclosure: 291/" Highx18"widex14 3/4 Deep

15" Woofer with heavy duty magnet

5" middler

4" tweeter

Piezo horn

Frequency response 48 hz to 28,000 Hz

Recommended Maximum Amp Power (watts Rms / Channel 150 watts)

The reason I put this up is because the fellow who sold me the Reviever won't comment on these Speakers other then to say I need all new stuff, and he is recommending:

The SAT3's in White and include the mounting bracket that is fully magnetic allowing you to completely position the angle of the speaker where you need it. I would use the Energy CC10 Center possibly under the TV for the best Center for your system design. Last but not least is the Energy ESWC10 Subwoofer. The White speakers are smaller but far better buil

1ea CC10
1ea ESWC10
4ea SAT3 White

So while not commenting on the Toshiba speakers he simply blew past them and recommended a system that didn't incorporate ther Toshiba speakers. Either he doesn't think they are good enough, or he wants to sell me all new speakers. I don't doubt his intergrity but he is in the business to sell and I would like a more unbiased opinion.