What's new

new to this, need your help my dudes. (1 Viewer)

Ratan Servegar

Auditioning
Hi, i am new to the whole home theater party.. i am currently in the process of building a new house and plan on having a dedicated room for a home theater. so here is where you guys come in and help me out with a couple of questions that i have and cant figure out via google.

1. i want to have a 130+ inch display/screen size but i am from INDIA and finding good quality screens is really hard and expensive here. can i just project it on a wall with black borders around it to make it look like a 130+ screen? what do i need to paint the wall with?

2. is 3D projector really worth investing in? i mean i have glass's and i hate how 3D movies at the cinemas make the colors dull. will 3D projectors be the same ?

3. i plan on having a 7.2 audio setup in the room and here is my confusion about amps and speakers. I have a harman/kardon 5.1 AVR with 5 speakers and a sub which is currently in my living room. but i plan on getting bigger speakers the one's you find in pubs etc and putting them in my HT room. my confusion is can i connect bigger speaks and 7 speakers and 2 sub's to my harman/kardon AVR or should i also buy a new AVR that supports bigger speakers and 7.1? i really have no clue about this thing please help.

4. how should i insulate my room for sound damping and also sound proofing so that i dont disturb ppl around me?

5. what else do you suggest?

vidiot33

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Mark
Hi: Having owned a 3D projector for awhile now, I would not make 3D a priority and certainly wouldn't pay extra for it.
Regarding your AV receiver, you will need to replace it if you want 7.1. I have a 7.1, however, and you can live quite nicely with 5.1, providing you have DTS MA and Dolby Tru HD decides in your Harman Kardon (even if you don't, you can still get good sound, just not state of the art).