What's new

No center speaker or a very slim one (1 Viewer)

kareldejong

Auditioning
Real Name
Karel de Jong
I am new to Home Theatre stuff.

Yesterday I bought an Onkyo tx sr608 receiver and a B & W 10 inch active subwoofer (both second hand). Today I hooked them up together with my 20 year old B & W 600 i bookshelf speakers and I enjoyed the new sound it created.

Then I added the Philips surrounds (THX certified but only 15 watts) that are still on the wall from our former television. That also sounded quite allright. I enjoyed my Super Audio CD Dark side of the moon from Pink Floyd.

But our new television though (Samsung 48 inch 3D LED tv) doesn't have a place underneath for a center speaker (it isn't mounted on the wall but standing on a cabinet). At the moment I have my amp configured with NO Center, but I am wondering if adding a center might give me more enoyment.

But like I said our tv is standing on a cabinet and the only girlfriend-accepted-way to add a center is to place it behind the tv so that it fires just underneath the tv through the holes of the mount. And then there's is also a Xbox 360 Kinetics sensor blocking the audio.

Could I use my tv's speaker as center? If so, how could I do that. The manual of the televsision didn't give me an answer.

Does any of you people know center speaker that are only 6 cm's broad? I was thinking of buying a Cambridge Audio Minx MIni 22 for a center.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 20150315_211000.jpg
    20150315_211000.jpg
    97.7 KB · Views: 425
  • 20150315_211024.jpg
    20150315_211024.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 359
  • 20150315_211056.jpg
    20150315_211056.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 711

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Your 608 doesn't have preouts(the Onkyo 70X do) so you can't use the TV, even if it offered the ability.