What's new

Looking for help on new entry level system. (1 Viewer)

Fijt01

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason
Hey, like the title says, I'm new to the whole world of home theater audio, but decided to take a leap into better quality movie sound. My current setup is having the TV in the main floor living room. I am looking for an entry level system (Receiver and speakers) between $500 and $1000 usd. The speakers would have to be able to be mounted to the walls and/or ceiling due to the room being multi-purpose. At some point in the future I plan on moving and having a tv in the living room for casual entertainment and with the added room plan on using space for a nice theater space so this system could just stay as a living room casual system or be used in the home theater.

This system would mainly be used for Movies as I don't really listen to music (Wife does on occasion but not a huge requirement).

A couple of questions I have:

1. Is it feasible to build a system from scratch for my budget (I know nothing so any suggestions for a system would be great on this)

2. Do speakers have height requirements for mounting in different set ups? ie 5.1 vs 7.1 My rear speakers would be mounted in the ceiling (Toddler rampage on the floor and all that).

3. I found an Onkyo HT-S5600 7.1 on accessories4less at a really good price (329.99) that's way below my budget... Is there a better/higher end system that I could get for a bit more money for better sound that you would recommend or is that system something I should really consider purchasing.

I do admit I don't know much about speakers or home audio and have to put out there that I was originally considering a bose system until I started reading some of the posts here that made really good point for avoiding them. I've spent the last few days trying to research so I can better understand all the information out there, but I am not really sure where to start (Hence this post!).