What's new

Help a new guy out!? (1 Viewer)

cleanfreak

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason
Greetings my fellow audioholics-

I am new to this world of home theater and I need some help.

I have upgraded from a samsung soundbar with wireless sub to a 5.2 surround system. My system is powered by a Denon S500BT. I am pretty satisfied with the initial set up using the 'auto setup' feature in the Denon, but I have a few questions.

1.I have read that it is best to do a manual set up with all the speakers set to 'small' and set the subwoofers to 'LFE'. When I do this, I get NO sound from the subwoofers. They act like they are not receiving a signal at all. I have all the 'small' speakers set at 80 and the subwoofer set at 120. Thoughts?

2. I am also somewhat confused on what mode I actually need to be watching movies on. When I play a blu ray disc my only real choice that gets surround is multi channel stereo. When I stream a movie from Amazon prime, I get Dolby Digital and multi channel stereo. I read somewhere that the best sound is produced via PCM. How can I make sure I using PCM? What 'mode' on the Denon will provide PCM as none of the options display this setting?

Thanks for your help and thanks for a nice forum.

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Welcome to the forum!

What source devices do you have and how are they connected? I have a feeling you may still have all of your sources connected to the TV and are using the TVs optical output to feed the receiver (this is likely the way the sound bar was connected).

If this is the case, this could well be your problem - since your TV will only output 2.0 stereo.

If in fact, you have your devices connected to the receiver via HDMI cables, then it becomes a matter of making sure that the source(s) are set up to output digital 5.1 and the receiver is configured to receive it correctly.

First, verify that your sources are connected via HDMI to the receiver.

cleanfreak

Auditioning