What's new

Panasonic AE2000U Keep or Replace? (1 Viewer)

Kevin Forsberg

Auditioning
Hello,
I'm fairly new to home theater and just bought a house with a home theater installed by the prior owners. The projector needs a new bulb - its a Panasonic AE2000U (from 2007). The picture is ok (doesn't look HD) but doesn't look as bad as standard TV either.

The question - should I replace the bulb at about $200 or is it time to upgrade?

Thanks
Kevin

FoxyMulder

映画ファン
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
Kevin Forsberg said:
Hello,
I'm fairly new to home theater and just bought a house with a home theater installed by the prior owners. The projector needs a new bulb - its a Panasonic AE2000U (from 2007). The picture is ok (doesn't look HD) but doesn't look as bad as standard TV either.

The question - should I replace the bulb at about $200 or is it time to upgrade?

Thanks
Kevin
It was a good projector back in the day.

It's certainly full HD and although you state it doesn't look HD there could be several reasons for that, the dimming bulb being one of them, the settings another and the content you are playing being yet another, what is your budget for upgrading. ?

Kevin Forsberg

Auditioning
Thank you all for responding. I am leaning towards upgrading - I'd like something in the 2000-3000 range; its a large room and the current system was professionally installed so I'm hoping a swap out would be too difficult. What kind of models would I look at in that kind of money range? Thanks again,
Kevin

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
For up to $2000-3000, you're going to have a huge range of choices!