What's new

Adding an Outdoor Speaker to an Existing 5.1 System? (1 Viewer)

Browns7213

Agent
Real Name
David
Hi All,

I'm a total noob to HT set-ups and had Magnolia install a 5.1 set-up in my great room with 2 additional speakers in the basement for listening to music throughout the house. We have a very open floor plan so music can be heard everywhere in the house, except outside, with this set-up.

I would like to add an additional speaker outside both for music and for TV, I can see the plasma perfectly through the floor to ceiling windows while sitting on the patio, but need sound out there. Is there a way to add a powered speaker (Sonos or Bose) of some sort to get sound outside? My set-up is totally over my head and have no idea if this is possible or how to go about doing it and bringing Magnolia back is cost prohibitive. My system is listed below.

Anthem Statement 2 Preamp/processor
McIntosh MC207 7-Channel Amp
Control 4 System Running The Whole Set-Up

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Browns7213

Agent
Real Name
David
Thanks for the reply Sam. I am trying to avoid anything else Control 4 related as any changes require Magnolia to come out at an obscene hourly rate. I was hoping someone here could direct me to a solution that I could install on my own.

Browns7213

Agent
Real Name
David
Wireless would be my preference. I only have 2 Zones. Zone 2 is hard wired up through the walls into the amp and can be turned on via the C4 or via the Pre/pro.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Wireless options...why incorporate the current system at all?But any wireless speaker(that plugs into an outlet or rechargeable battery) will connect to zone 3.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam