What's new

Pioneer VSX-43 Help (1 Viewer)

cstan84

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
Anyone know how to increase the volume when using the home theatre? I have an LG TV connected through HDMI cable. I have to turn the receiver up to 61 in order hear the sound. Anyone run into this problem?

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil
cstan84 said:
Anyone know how to increase the volume when using the home theatre? I have an LG TV connected through HDMI cable. I have to turn the receiver up to 61 in order hear the sound. Anyone run into this problem?
Is the limit to the dynamic range on in the settings?

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
In modern AVR volume is set up as doubling.Most of us set at the db scale. When set db, it is not uncommon to listen between -25 to -15.

cstan84

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
Phil A said:
Is the limit to the dynamic range on in the settings?
I couldn't find a dynamic range, sorry, i'm not very technically advanced in this area. Where would I find it?

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
It might help a bit to know what speakers you have connected.

Also, what exactly is the problem? Are you not able to achieve the volume levels you want at all, or are you simply dismayed that the volume dial reads "61" when you get the levels you want?

As Sam mentioned above, volume is simply a scale... what it reads is largely irrelevant if you get the performance (gain) that you desire.

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil
cstan84 said:
I couldn't find a dynamic range, sorry, i'm not very technically advanced in this area. Where would I find it?
It would be in your manual. On my Pioneer 1120 it is in the'Other Setup Menu.' It is labeled 'Volume' set-up.

cstan84

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris