What's new

Total Beginner Need Advice on Speaker Equipment (1 Viewer)

nolegrl

Auditioning
Real Name
Keri
I'm looking to purchase a receiver/speaker system for my living room. My current setup is a 32in Emerson TV with no external speakers. I have five gaming systems that require HDMI input and two gaming systems that require component input. I currently have a component switcher and a hdmi switcher to handle all the inputs. I have a NAS for my media (TV shows and Movies) and an Amazon Fire TV as my media front-end.

I'm not sure what a good "budget" price would be on this or even where to start looking or what I'll need. Can anyone give me a good starting point? Thanks!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Onkyo NR636(has HDMI upconversion).What speaker type?Tiny, bookshelf or tower?A4L is a great place for a bargain AVR. They currently have the Denon 1910 at a nice price(don't remember how many HDMI inputs it has though). It doesn't "do anything" extra you won't use either.

nolegrl

Auditioning
Real Name
Keri
schan1269 said:
Onkyo NR636(has HDMI upconversion).What speaker type?Tiny, bookshelf or tower?A4L is a great place for a bargain AVR. They currently have the Denon 1910 at a nice price(don't remember how many HDMI inputs it has though). It doesn't "do anything" extra you won't use either.
This sounds silly, but I'm not sure. This will be for a townhouse that I'm closing on at the end of October, so I'm just doing some up-front research to get an idea of cost and to see what's out there. Are there pros or cons to any of those? If it's just for aesthetics, I would just want something to blend in to my entertainment center. Also, I'm not sure if flooring plays a factor, but my living room is tiled.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam