What's new

loudspeaker vs subwoofer. ..noobie (1 Viewer)

guajardi

Auditioning
Real Name
Isaac
So I'm new in this whole audiophile world but I don't understand the difference between loudspeakers and subwoofers... I know subwoofers hit a lower frequency but is that the only difference? The reason for my question is I received a system but I can't find any specs on the 15"speaker..I've looked on the back and even online only thing I really know is it was a system built for a rent-a-way place and I feel they rated the system poorly so any help on both questions would be great. Thanks!

Attachments

• 20140726_171858.jpg
    20140726_171858.jpg
    124.7 KB · Views: 210
  • 20140726_171916.jpg
    20140726_171916.jpg
    153.8 KB · Views: 120
  • $T2eC16VHJIIE9qTYKKJvBRmnJ,d2oQ~~60_3.JPG
    $T2eC16VHJIIE9qTYKKJvBRmnJ,d2oQ~~60_3.JPG
    9.5 KB · Views: 136
  • $(KGrHqFHJFIFGW2SW0pgBRmnJZ6rnQ~~60_3.JPG
    $(KGrHqFHJFIFGW2SW0pgBRmnJZ6rnQ~~60_3.JPG
    11.7 KB · Views: 138

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
A speaker's name is determined by it's design. If it is designed to play just the lowest frequencies (120hz and lower) then it is a sub. If it is designed to play sort of low but still get up to 500hz or 1000hz then it's a woofer. There's also mid-bass drivers that play from about 80hz to 2000hz. Midrange drivers. Mid-tweeters. Tweeters. Super tweeters.

The application they are designed for also makes a difference. A subwoofer designed for live sound reproduction will not work well in a home theater environment. Some speakers only have a narrow sweet spot while some have a very wide sound stage. People write books on stuff like this so this is only a beginning summary.