What's new

Novice looking for advice on first home theater (1 Viewer)

Curlyp

Auditioning
Real Name
Drew
Hello AV Community,

I am new to the AV forums and a novice with it comes to purchasing AV equipment and/or setting it up. I am seeking the communities advice on which receiver and speakers would be the best bang for my budget for my current room setup (and is scalable for a bigger and/or smaller room in the future).

Budget

Currently, my budget is around $500 -$600. Yes, I know that may not be much, but as the rest of the year goes on and into 2015, I will slowly add to the collection. I know that I won’t be able to buy everything brand new and the latest and greatest (which I am okay with); however, I am open and have been looking at some older systems/speakers. I addition to my budget price, room space is going to come into play. From what I have read, certain types of speakers and brands are only good for certain room types. Which is why I would like to purchase one that is scalable up to a bigger room or down to a smaller room.

First, before we get into what brands I have been researching, let me give you my room dimensions.

Back wall (leads into the Kitchen)
- 214” full wall - part of it is a 72”wall with a window that overlooks into the kitchen

Left side wall (leads to front door and hallway)
- 187” full wall - part of it is a 72” wall that leads to the front door and hallway

Right wall
- 187” full wall

Front wall (Entertainment center)
- 219 1/2” full wall - the left part of the wall is open to the doorway and hallway

I also uploaded a diagram of the room to point out the open spots.

Receiver

The receiver brand I have been looking into is Onkyo for three reason. One, from the research I have done, the brand offers quite of bit features for a reasonable price. Two, from what a buddy has told me, the best receivers come from companies that don’t make speakers, i.e., Yamaha, Onkyo, Denon, and so on. Three,