-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Pioneer SC-75 MCACC Error SR


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   bcrazycramer

bcrazycramer

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2014
  • Real Name:Brandon

Posted June 19 2014 - 07:16 PM

I got this Pioneer SC-75 and hooked it up to my Bowers & Wilkins speakers and subwoofer. I get this error when I run the MCACC setup. Error SR.

I have the B & W ASW610 subwoofer hooked up to the front outputs and the B & W 683 s2 speakers bi amped to front outputs and front height outputs.

Where should I hook up this subwoofer?

I have all this hooked up to a 65" Samsung Curved UN65HU9000F 4k TV.

I need some help...

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 19 2014 - 07:37 PM

Sub connects to subwoofer. (The preouts say...subwoofer)

Forget the bi-amp

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   bcrazycramer

bcrazycramer

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2014
  • Real Name:Brandon

Posted June 19 2014 - 07:43 PM

So I need something other then speaker wire to hook up the sub then...?

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 19 2014 - 10:53 PM

You need to be SPECIFIC.

That AVR has preouts...which is what everyone on this forum would assume you meant the front channel preouts.

But if you...

Connected high level to the sub(which I can only guess is what you mean) and bi-amped your main channel...

No wonder it doesn't work. You are lucky you didn't fry it.

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   bcrazycramer

bcrazycramer

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2014
  • Real Name:Brandon

Posted June 20 2014 - 05:49 AM

You need to be SPECIFIC.

That AVR has preouts...which is what everyone on this forum would assume you meant the front channel preouts.

But if you...

Connected high level to the sub(which I can only guess is what you mean) and bi-amped your main channel...

No wonder it doesn't work. You are lucky you didn't fry it.

 

I hooked up the speakers per the manual for bi-amped with speaker wire. The subwoofer stated in the manual to hook up the front speaker leads with speaker wire to the subwoofer. The subwoofer was hooked up with the low frequency on bi-amped speakers feed for front speakers. 

 

I need to get the cable for the subwoofer and I should be good?

 

What's wrong with bi-amped speakers?



#6 of 8 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 20 2014 - 07:06 AM

Are these the only three speakers?

Doubling the power nets 3db.

On your speakers...

When you take out the jumpers..is the low end separated from the top end?

If yes, the AVR is either...
Sending a full 20-20k signal to the woofer.

Or, sending only the "crossover choice" and under, leaving you a big hole in frequency response.

If the speaker is not separated low/high, and the AVR sends it crossed over...no net increase in power.

I wish AVR manufacturers(except Onkyo, as they actually offer crossovers for this...specifically) would remove that capability.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   bcrazycramer

bcrazycramer

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2014
  • Real Name:Brandon

Posted June 20 2014 - 12:06 PM

Are these the only three speakers?

Doubling the power nets 3db.

On your speakers...

When you take out the jumpers..is the low end separated from the top end?

If yes, the AVR is either...
Sending a full 20-20k signal to the woofer.

Or, sending only the "crossover choice" and under, leaving you a big hole in frequency response.

If the speaker is not separated low/high, and the AVR sends it crossed over...no net increase in power.

I wish AVR manufacturers(except Onkyo, as they actually offer crossovers for this...specifically) would remove that capability.

 

 

For now, I just have the three speakers. I did remove the clip that connects the low and high terminals. I will get the proper cable for the subwoofer and try it again tonight. 



#8 of 8 OFFLINE   bcrazycramer

bcrazycramer

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2014
  • Real Name:Brandon

Posted July 01 2014 - 08:07 PM

This seems to be working now.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users