What's new

Need advice! (1 Viewer)

mitchpeder7

Auditioning
Real Name
mitchell
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum so if this is in the wrong place by all means move it.
I'm fairly new to the home theatre "hobby" and would like all the info I can get!! Any comments/suggestions would be awesome!
So to start off I have;
Basement
A mid 2011 Mac Mini (hdmi output)
A Pioneer vsx 823
Two Klipsch RF600 tower speakers
A Klipsch sw110 sub
A Samsung 64" 5300 plasma tv
Upstairs
Apple tv (stream music/video from mac to atv)
Tv
Bedroom
Airport express (use airplay from mac to here as well)

Now some info on what I use the system for.
I have an extensive music collection and listen a lot, with the apple tv and airport express i have music throughout my house.
On my basement system I watch a lot of movies (probably used 50% music 50% movies). I use xbmc and netflix (and american netflix) on the mac as well as iTunes.

In the future I want to add rear and centre speakers which brings me to my first question.
With the way my room is set up I don't have a good place to put "bookshelf" rears, I do have a T-bar ceiling so an idea I had was to go with something like polk TC 60i in-ceiling speakers. Will this sound good with my system or is there a better way to go?

Next question is how can I improve the audio quality from the PC? Any good programs out there?
Thanks in advance!!

mitchpeder7

Auditioning
Real Name
mitchell
Here's a pic of my current set up

Attachments

• IMG_9838.jpeg
    IMG_9838.jpeg
    252.2 KB · Views: 52

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
I would not mix Polk with Klipsch. Audio from "the net" is how it was created. If not 320, no...there is nothing you can do. Other than scrap it all and do it again.

ArmSC

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Tony