What's new

Help making decision on speakers (1 Viewer)

josh.imhoff

Auditioning
Real Name
Josh
I'm new to this, so here goes:
My room: 15' x 20' with 9' ceilings
80" TV

I'm looking to purchase the Denon AVR-X3000 receiver.

There are so many choices regarding what speakers I should get. I'm looking for nice sounding 5.1 speakers including a sub that will be clear, with good mid range and solid base. My price cap for the speakers + sub is $1000. All of the speakers need to be wall mountable (I have kids that will destroy floor standing speakers). I've looked at reviews of Polk, Mirage, Harman Kardan, Energy, Bose and Definitive Technology speaker systems. I was going to get a Bose system but I keep reading that they are over priced and I could do much better with putting a system together myself. I really have no idea which ones to purchase as there are good and bad reviews of each. Since my room is large, I need a system that is loud enough to fill the room. I'm wondering if anyone has any recommendations?

Thanks!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
KEF KHT.Or the the E series.$1000 is tight as most subs are $200 at least.Most if the time, you are doing it wrong if your speakers aren't at least the same cost as everything else.My opinion...Buy less AVR to have more speaker budget.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
You might put up some narrow but stout shelves instead of wall mounting, at least in the front.

GregC

Stunt Coordinator
josh.imhoff said:
I'm new to this, so here goes:
My room: 15' x 20' with 9' ceilings
80" TV

I'm looking to purchase the Denon AVR-X3000 receiver.