Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Onkyo HT-S5600


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 27 2014 - 07:57 PM

Hi, I just got an Onkyo HT-S5600 and might need to return it. I want to hook it up to my PA mixer but the outpput won't play hdmi signals. Is there a way around it? Seemed like a good deal but maybe I should have just got it all seperate. Do you think I could just upgrayd the receiver? would they swap it for a fee/differance? Please help only have about 2weeks to send back. free shipping here but it'll be bucks to send back. Could i just return the receiver?



#2 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 27 2014 - 08:23 PM

Why do you need HDMI signals?



#3 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 29 2014 - 12:55 PM

Internet radio and cds via cable box, or computer or xbox. I don't have a stand alone cd player and xbox and computer only have hdmi.



#4 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 29 2014 - 01:31 PM

Xbox has secondary audio outputs. You could use your computer's analog audio or use it with a Bluetooth Music Receiver. I still fail to understand why your mixer won't work. You plug stuff into it, it connects to the 5600...no HDMI involvement at all.

#5 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 29 2014 - 05:30 PM

My xbox 360 dosen't have secondary outputs, only hdmi. I did get the bluetooth adapter. Anyway I guess I'm just bitching. Why would they not let it play through?? What is the purpose? It seams to me that blocking it would take more effort then just letting every signal through. Also if it isn't a true line out they should say that what it is. My mixer works fine. It's a Makie. It's the fact that when I hook up my cable box to the reciever and the "line out" to the mixer it should get a signal. Since my cable box is hd the reciever won't forword the signal. So since I haven't hooked up the onkyo speakers it has not made a sound. I am hoping that I can just upgrade the reciever to one with pre amp outs which, so I'm told will work. How much do you think I could sell the reciever alone for?



#6 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 29 2014 - 05:54 PM

My xbox 360 dosen't have secondary outputs, only hdmi. I did get the bluetooth adapter. Anyway I guess I'm just bitching. Why would they not let it play through?? What is the purpose? It seams to me that blocking it would take more effort then just letting every signal through. Also if it isn't a true line out they should say that what it is. My mixer works fine. It's a Makie. It's the fact that when I hook up my cable box to the reciever and the "line out" to the mixer it should get a signal. Since my cable box is hd the reciever won't forword the signal. So since I haven't hooked up the onkyo speakers it has not made a sound. I am hoping that I can just upgrade the reciever to one with pre amp outs which, so I'm told will work. How much do you think I could sell the reciever alone for?

 

Digital zone 2...

 

Denon (X3000/4000 and 4520)

Yamaha RX-A(30x0/20x0/10x0)

Pioneer 1523/Elite 75/77/79

 

There is your complete, and exhaustive list.

 

The bold part...

 

Why are you buying an AVR in the first place? Why on earth are you buyinig an AVR?

http://www.outlawaud...oducts/975.html

http://shop.emotiva....products/umc200

 

Read owners manuals before you buy stuff.



#7 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 29 2014 - 06:07 PM

And let me guess...

 

You are trying to use an AVR as an "HDMI interface" into a mixer...and that mixer is connected to self-powered speakers.

 

I can only assume that cause that is the only thing that makes sense about why you need an AVR to feed a mixer...and not a mixer feeding the AVR.



#8 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 30 2014 - 02:48 PM

Kinda. Do you know wha tI mean by PA system? It' a mixer, power amp, ect. in a rack and main loud speaker cabnets. Liike you see at a club. Completely differant animal for suround sound systems. Designed to be loud and throw sound a distance. The home stereo is more for quality and dinamics and of course the mutiple channel "suround" effect. I know there are people that could argue but try building a surround sound pa system. Anyway mine is loud not the best sound quality. I could spend thousands on pa gear to try to get close to the quality but I don't need it for that, it's for a live band. Mostly just vocals actually. But to watch a movie the TV speakers are better. I just want the option to run sound out of the pa system. Why build a really loud H.T. system when I have that covered, I just want quality and suround type thing. Get it?



#9 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 30 2014 - 02:54 PM

Oh also my flat screen only has 2 hdmi inputs and no sound out puts, plus I could cut down on remotes. I think I already said I have a pos 10+ year old walmart special suround, 2ins 1 out only rca and the built in dvd player crapped out years ago. which I am using but really needs to get junked.



#10 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 03:02 PM

Nope. Never heard of PA in my life. Other than Guitar Center is my GFs second home.

She plays a grand piano and the upright bass. Has her recording studio, of sorts.

So no. I have zero clue.


Anyway. Now that line 1 and 3 of sarcasm are over...

90% of us do this this kind of thing. It is called Zone 2 on a multi zone AVR.

Your zone 2 just happens to be mixer/pa.

You could have shared all this at the beginning.

#11 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 30 2014 - 04:56 PM

She sounds cool, whats her number? Haha, anyway I figured you did just throwing it out there. There is a big differance I'm using it to listen to music now since everything is torn up and fine but I know the avr would be better. Thanks for being cool about it. I'm calling amazons third party place that actually sold it tomorow to see if I can just trade the reciever in for credit to upgrade. I'm sure the speakers are fine I don't feel like going through all the hassle of picking out all the speakers and watching my buget. Just look at the problems with the 1 component desisions.



#12 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 30 2014 - 04:57 PM

Oh and in my secound sentence I said "I want to hook it up to my PA mixer". Just sayin.



#13 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,514 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 05:06 PM

And which direction on the hook up?

I assumed mixer to AVR for karaoke purposes.

#14 of 14 OFFLINE   beatdr

beatdr

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2014
  • Real Name:Dustin Ruffner

Posted March 31 2014 - 03:58 PM

No, why? You mean to sing through the suround sound stuff? I wouldn't want to hook anything like that up to it, could really hurt it couldn't it? All the other frequincies and volume changes and feedback. The PA stuff is built tough to widthstan that abuse (well some of it) right? I jsut want to listen to music on my computer, xbox and cable box on the pa as well as the avr. For when I want it really load. This one goes up to 11!!!






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users