Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

looking into avr have questions


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#21 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 06:41 AM

Accessories4less? They aren't going to have any new AVR yet.

#22 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 06:43 AM

i know im just looking at different things kinda who may have the best prices when they do come out. i saw that onkyo mrsp was 499 which is a lil more than i wanna pay but i know thats just their site



#23 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 07:02 AM

Onkyo doesn't price protect their product.In the first 30 days "street price" on the 535 should be under $400.

#24 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 07:18 AM

exactly what i figured which would be more what i would be ok. id like to top out on the avr at 400. i did see on accessories4less.com they had a denon referb for 100 bucks



#25 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 07:46 AM

so ive been thinking if i have the cable just plugged straight into tv with no STB when i get surround sound how would i get sound for cable from tv to avr to speakers? i see an optical option which is how i do my tv right now with a cheaper sound bar in the bed room.



#26 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 07:51 AM

That is how you do it.That is all that ARC replaces anyway, that toslink.The ATSC tuner provides DD 5.1.

#27 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 08:01 AM

wait whats ATSC tuner? i dont think i have that (for now anyways) in the room where the avr will be going. 



#28 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 08:38 AM

Remember NTSC from the analog days?Remember all the fuss for the digital transition?ATSC is the digital tuner in your TV.

#29 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 09:05 AM

so what your saying is that even tho its not hdmi or hd quality picture when i hook up the digital optic ill still get full quality audio i wont have any problems with surround sound.



#30 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 10:23 AM

so what your saying is that even tho its not hdmi or hd quality picture when i hook up the digital optic ill still get full quality audio i wont have any problems with surround sound.

That depends on your cable company.

#31 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 10:53 AM

mines considered a home town provider as they actually have the fastest internet speed in my area its ellijay telephone company northganow.com how would i be able to tell?



#32 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 10:55 AM

Have you tried OTA?

#33 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 11:49 AM

yes i have once i live next to an airport and its not really recommended is it? or maybe u can point me to a good antenna. i did have one but was never able to get it set up or work correctly. 



#34 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 11:50 AM

Antennaweb.org

#35 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 11:54 AM

id have to have a large one which i dont think i can do at the apartments



#36 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 12:24 PM

Your apartment complex cannot deny you putting up an antenna.If you mount one...they can argue and complain all they want.

#37 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 12:32 PM

how big is a large antenna cause the one ive seen is way bigger than i think i can put up on my back deck



#38 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 12:36 PM

What did Antennaweb say you needed?



#39 of 48 OFFLINE   bjballar41

bjballar41

    Second Unit



  • 342 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted March 30 2014 - 12:54 PM

large with preamp for most channels



#40 of 48 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,025 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted March 30 2014 - 12:59 PM

Have you tried raising the antenna off the ground on AW.org?

 

I have an enormous antenna that picks up Indianapolis, 120 miles away. Of course...I'm on my own 13 acres.

 

If you are on the top floor of an apartment building, if you have a balcony, you can hoist it above the roof. Doing so greatly reduces the size of the antenna required.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users