Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Beginner question...Trying to hookup projector using a hdmi to dvi cable


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 26 2014 - 11:41 PM

I'll take a stab that you had this HTiB connected to a TV before. Then you swapped in the projector.

You probably need to unplug the HTiB from the wall to reset HDCP.

#22 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 08:29 AM

I had it hooked to a different, much less nice, projector using the rca jacks.  Let my try unplugging it....



#23 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 08:41 AM

unplugging didn't fix anything, BUT the new component cable just showed up so I'm gonna hook everything up that route and see what happens.



#24 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 09:14 AM

Nothin, absolutely nothin.  Is it possible ALL the inputs could be bad?  I'm very much ready to chuck this thing into a pond!



#25 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 27 2014 - 01:00 PM

Anything is possible.

There is a reason I referred to that thing as a gigantic dinosaur.

#26 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 01:34 PM

yes it happens,but it was in my price range and seemed like it would work great!  so am I just SOL now?  Or should I try something else?



#27 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 27 2014 - 03:49 PM

Find another player with HDMI. I have a hard time believing you get a menu with dead inputs.

99% of non-working projectors are projectors that won't turn on.

This one turns on. Can you call the guy and ask him to give you instructions?

Have a found a manual for it?

In other words. In makes zero sense you get to a menu, but no picture.

#28 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 04:07 PM

Ok. I've got the manual...its an easy download. Guy remembers struggling with it's inputs for 7hrs, but can't remember how it was hooked up in the end. They used it for a drive-in.

#29 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 27 2014 - 04:13 PM

And how big is the area you'll be using it?

#30 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 27 2014 - 08:31 PM

16' sq. 100" screen. Lens that's on it now is perfect!

#31 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 28 2014 - 06:36 AM

Glad I went to bed before reading that.

Using that projector for a 100" screen is like using a sledgehammer on trim finishing nails.

Hopefully you get it to work. I have no more ideas.

I just can't imagine that projector being used that small. You could darn near tan with that thing.

#32 of 34 raw191

raw191

    Extra

  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2014
  • Real Name:Ross

Posted January 28 2014 - 07:45 AM

Well, currently it doesn't matter since it wont put out images of any size.  lol.  Thanks for your help.  Any recommendations on a projector that you think would work better?



#33 of 34 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,894 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 28 2014 - 07:53 AM

Look up the 1080ST.

 

Not the cheapest...but I think 720P projectors are a waste of time. On your own on anything less expensive.



#34 of 34 Malcolm R

Malcolm R

    Executive Producer

  • 11,507 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 08 2002
  • LocationVermont

Posted February 24 2014 - 01:06 PM

I found this while scanning the Sharp manual. Maybe this is the issue?

 

This DVI port is DVI version 1.0 compatible. Therefore when the signal is input from copy
guard system compatible (DVI version 2.0) equipment, no signal will be received.

 

I run my projector using a HDMI to DVI cable (Optoma H27 projector, DVI-D, I believe), but I don't really know the details of DVI version 1.0 vs. 2.0.  But "copy guard" mentioned above make me think it might be some issue with the copy protection schemes on discs you are trying to view.

 

Found this in a wikipedia discussion of DVI:

 

In the reverse scenario, a DVI monitor that lacks optional support for HDCP might be unable to display protected content, even though it is otherwise compatible with the HDMI source.

 

My Optoma supports the HDCP "handshake". It sounds like the Sharp may not.


The purpose of an education is to replace an empty mind with an open mind.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users