Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Blu Ray Player as connection point?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   SoundHound

SoundHound

Auditioning

• 8 posts
  • LocationNorway

Posted January 16 2014 - 01:09 PM

Hi, Im new to the picture& audio world and I have a few questions.

Is it possible to buy a Blu Ray Player and use it as a connection point to my ps4, ps3, tv-box, and speakers and then hook it up to the TV, since my TV only has 2 HDMI outputs and no audio outputs.

So I dont need to go behind the Tv and change HDMI all the time.

#2 of 12 ONLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

Screenwriter

• 2,983 posts
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted January 16 2014 - 01:49 PM

No. A Blu-ray player doesn't do that.

The simplest solution is to use an HDMI switch like this. It has a remote for switching inputs and will allow you to connect all your devices to the switch, then run one HDMI from the switch output to your TV.

What are these "speakers" you mention? If they are connected to your TV directly, then you're getting stereo only, no real surround sound. The HDMI switch won't solve that problem - to really get the best audio performance from your devices, you need something more capable - an Audio/Video Receiver.

AVRs are intended to serve as the hub of your system - connect all your sources to the receiver, connect your speakers (assuming they are "real" speakers and not powered computer speakers) to the receiver, and connect the receiver HDMI out to your TV. The AVR then provides the highest quality audio and video possible for all your sources.

Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker

Screenwriter