-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

opinion on the purchase of a new tv

BBC

  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#41 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 06:27 AM

so stupid question maybe i found this tv it is broken but if i fix mine with just a power supply it sounds like this one may need a new one also would it be worth it to get it and order it?

 

http://atlanta.craig...4250537931.html



#42 of 108 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,767 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:08 AM

so stupid question maybe i found this tv it is broken but if i fix mine with just a power supply it sounds like this one may need a new one also would it be worth it to get it and order it?

 

http://atlanta.craig...4250537931.html

 

I think that's a 720p plasma, i personally wouldn't touch it with a bargepole but it's your money.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


#43 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:20 AM

ya i looked it up and found that out i just saw it had the same symptoms as my tv so was thinking if i fixed mine may be an easy fix



#44 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:22 AM

and whats considered a main board? is that the power supply?



#45 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:39 AM

so ive been trying to see about checking my hours on my working samsung and i can not find a way to do it. and i contacted samsung and they said there is no option on checking how many hours their tvs have been in use



#46 of 108 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,767 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:53 AM

so ive been trying to see about checking my hours on my working samsung and i can not find a way to do it. and i contacted samsung and they said there is no option on checking how many hours their tvs have been in use

 

They won't tell you, here is how you do it.

 

2011 "D" Models :


    While the TV is in standby mode:
    Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons.

    The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed.

    Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "SVC"
    "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed.

    To exit, press the {POWER} button.


    NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to
    default values. So make sure to write down custom
    adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.



2010 "C" Models :


    While the TV is in standby mode:
    Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons.

    The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed.

    Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "SVC"
    "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed.

    To exit, press the {POWER} button.


    NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to
    default values. So make sure to write down custom
    adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.



2009 "B" Models: B550 / B560 / B590 / B650 / B850 / B860


    While the TV is in standby mode:
    Press the {INFO}, {MENU}, {MUTE} & {POWER} buttons.

    The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed.

    Using the {UP} or {Down} buttons, select "Control".
    Then select "Sub Option".

    "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed.

    To exit, press the {POWER} button.


    NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to
    default values. So make sure to write down custom
    adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.



2008 "A" Models: A450 / A550 / A650


    While the TV is in standby mode:
    Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons.

    The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed.

    Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "PDP OPTION".
    or
    Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "OPTION BYTE".

    "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed.

    To exit, press the {RETURN} button and/or turn the power off.


    NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to
    default values. So make sure to write down custom
    adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


#47 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 07:56 AM

i tried that here is my number pn42c450b1dxza so i think mine is a c450 which would mean its a 2010. do i press all the buttons at once? and standby means its on like the screen saver where it shows samsung that moves around right?



#48 of 108 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,767 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:00 AM

i tried that here is my number pn42c450b1dxza so i think mine is a c450 which would mean its a 2010. do i press all the buttons at once? and standby means its on like the screen saver where it shows samsung that moves around right?

 

No, i actually did this for my E6500 last year to check hours, i confirmed it was a new TV that way, you want to switch the television into standby, this means switching it off using your remote so you have nothing on the screen, the TV will be off, then you follow the instructions above.

 

Press each button one at a time, no need to rush it.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


#49 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:04 AM

still nothing just cuts on to cable



#50 of 108 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,767 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:11 AM

still nothing just cuts on to cable

 

Disconnect anything connected to the television and then try again, it took me a few goes to get right.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


#51 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:12 AM

can i disconnet from cable box and sound bar and not actual tv?



#52 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:14 AM

i got it to pull up but there is no svc option on it



#53 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 08:19 AM

i found it mines under the 2009 options 5691hrs . how long are these tvs suppose to last? i saw somehwere panasonic has like 30000 hrs?



#54 of 108 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,576 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 05 2014 - 09:06 AM

Most plasma, by then, had 100,000 hour panels.

#55 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 05 2014 - 09:39 AM

so mine has along time to go. so what do they consider the main board? i found another tv that needs one that i may pick up if i fix this one.

http://atlanta.craig...4229126026.html

 

http://atlanta.craig...4269005355.html



#56 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 06 2014 - 09:29 AM

power supply did not work so shopping for new tv



#57 of 108 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,576 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 06 2014 - 10:01 AM

Hopefully the PS wasn't expensive. I bet nobody else came up with a different possibility either...



#58 of 108 Type A

Type A

    Supporting Actor

  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2007
  • Real Name:Ty
  • LocationPortland Oregon

Posted January 06 2014 - 10:07 AM

Bummer. With your budget, and only using BB, its either the LG 50PN5300 or Samsung PN51F5300AFXZA. I know its $50 over your budget, even with free delivery, but I wouldnt invest in a 720p plasma. At 720p the pixels are just too obvious and I wouldnt want to own an LED, 1080p or not.
JVC DLA-RS60U3D & DaLite High Power 106"
Paradigm Studio V.5 20 (5) & ADP590 (2)  
Hsu VTF-2 MK3 (2) & MBM-12 MK2 (2)

Yamaha RX-A3010 & Emotiva XPA5
Oppo BDP93 & Darbee DVP 5000

*My Home Theater Photo Journal*

#59 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 06 2014 - 10:35 AM

I'm gonna talk to them I have heard they are price matching even amazon. So gonna see what I can come up with.

#60 of 108 bjballar41

bjballar41

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 30 2013
  • Real Name:Brock

Posted January 06 2014 - 11:22 AM

LG is 649 Samsung is 649 and an inch bigger idk which one is better





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: BBC

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users