What's new

Another Noob (1 Viewer)

ColColt

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
David
Another noob here. I found the fourm while searching for some answers to several problems I was having trying to get up to date on the new technology, which to me was HDTV and BR players. I didn't know what HDMI was.I had Comcast to send me a HD cable box for my new HDTV since my old CRT bit the dust.. Unfortunately, my older Yamaha receiver, while superb still, doesn't have HDMI connections so, I suppose I'll have to watch BR movies via the player to TV rather than the receiver. I can live with that for awhile.

I've discovered when you get behind 5-10 years in electronics the world passes you by and I'm way behind. I still thought component video was the best there was! Well, that and S-Video. I found out last week I was wrong. It's been a learning experinece and I'm just getting my feet wet. Video is one aspect of it all but I still enjoy the fine audio of a Marantz receiver from the late 70's with a Nakamichi ZX-7 hooked in...sheer Nirvana!

Sam Posten

Premium
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam Posten
Welcome David!Wow that IS a pretty big gap. I'd hate to see ya give up using your real speakers and have all the glory of bluray stuck funneled through a TV... You are definitely right about the fast paced churn of technology. I recommend taking a look at some of the entry level to $500 receivers, they are pretty dang smoking these days!I personally prefer Denon receivers but there are dozens of alternatives in this price range...http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR-E400-Channel-Networking-Receiver/dp/B00B7X2OTY/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1388507639&sr=1-3&keywords=denon+receiverOf course if your budget allows it, the sky is the limit, but it's not a shield against the march of tech!Welcome and good luck!

ColColt

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
David