Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Problem with Yamaha RX-V1

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   marianswell

marianswell

Auditioning

• 3 posts

Posted November 28 2013 - 12:11 PM

Hi Guys,

i just bought the RX-V1 on ebay and a few of the speaker channels don't seem to work. I never owned a receiver, so i'm a total newbie in this universe..

When i run the "Test" mode, in which the speakers receive a noisy signal one after the other, the only channels that work are MAIN LEFT, CENTER and REAR CENTER. None of the other channels produces any sounds. All the channels are set to +/-0db.

Down here is an image, showing what i just described, with green working, and red not working.

Do i do something wrong?

Thanks for helping out!! M

yamahaRX-V1.jpg

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

HTF Expert

• 14,481 posts
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 28 2013 - 06:59 PM

How many did you hook up?

Did you do speaker set-up?

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   marianswell

marianswell

Auditioning

• 3 posts

Posted November 29 2013 - 01:09 PM

How many did you hook up?

Did you do speaker set-up?

hi,

actually i tried to hook all the 6 speakers+subwoofer at the same time, and then i used one single speaker on every channel, one after the other.

always with the same result (as shown in the photo - red is not working).

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Producer

• 5,910 posts

Posted December 14 2013 - 05:32 PM

Nice unit, I used to have one.

You might try connecting a short RCA cable between the left and right “Main In” and “Main Out” jacks.  As for as the “Front” and “Rear (Surround)” speakers, those probably have to be enabled in the menu.