Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Most cost efficient multi switch for my Directv system??


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 OFFLINE   Michael BMF Martin

Michael BMF Martin

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted December 31 2001 - 04:06 AM

I can't spend hundreds of dollars, so what is the best for my money and where can I get it??

#2 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 31 2001 - 06:54 AM

Please describe what you are trying to accomplish. There are many different multi-switches for many different applications.

-Robert

#3 of 15 OFFLINE   Michael BMF Martin

Michael BMF Martin

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted December 31 2001 - 09:25 AM

I have a dual lnb 18" dish with 2 directivo's and one standard receiver. No cable and planning on using only 1 feed to my second directivo for now.

#4 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 01 2002 - 12:37 AM

Since you are only using one tuner in one of your DirecTivos, you need a 2x4 (or 3x4) switch. Try the first switch on this page. Just ignore the OTA input.

-Robert

#5 of 15 OFFLINE   Michael BMF Martin

Michael BMF Martin

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted January 01 2002 - 02:13 AM

Thanks Robert!!

#6 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert Ma

Robert Ma

    Second Unit



  • 370 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 18 2001

Posted January 01 2002 - 01:36 PM

On this topic, how come they can't do 1 input / 2 output splitting? You thing they could if they go from 2 in / 4 out.

I just ordered my DirecTivo unit and have to pick up a dual-lnb and run another cable....

#7 of 15 OFFLINE   Jim Carr

Jim Carr

    Second Unit



  • 250 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2001

Posted January 01 2002 - 01:57 PM

Robert, can I use this cheap 25 dollar multi switch in my setup?

2 18" dishes and the OTA antenna all going into the multi-switch. Then just the one out from the multi-switch to my receiver and I'm good to go?

thanks alot guys!


Jim

#8 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 01 2002 - 02:45 PM

Robert,
It has to do with the 13 volt or 18 volt signals that are sent to the LNB to properly tune in the right/left polarized frequencies (even/odd channels). On the other hand, you can use a splitter if you buy about $300 worth of LNB stackers/de-stackers.

Jim,
If you are using the two 18" dishes in place of the eliptical dish, then the cheap switch won't work. Scoll down to the 5x4 or 5x8, that's what you need.

-Robert

#9 of 15 OFFLINE   Jim Carr

Jim Carr

    Second Unit



  • 250 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2001

Posted January 01 2002 - 11:20 PM

Ahhh ok. thanks so much for all your help Richard!! Would have taken me months to do this without all your knowledge and help.

thanks again,


Jim

#10 of 15 OFFLINE   Michael BMF Martin

Michael BMF Martin

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted January 02 2002 - 01:13 PM

Robert Ma, I believe a 1 in-2 out splitter won't work since the splitter has to use both lines to switch back and forth.

You seem to have my same tastes when it comes to $$ over absolute peak performance as I do. Not that you don't have a nice system, but that you look for the best possible deal when buying equipment. I got my 50" Toshiba for $600 from some friends at a local finance store that repo'd a brand new unit when the customer would not make their payments.

On another note, I have a Yammy rv-1000 and it turns off when I have the volume turned up(not extremely loud) and there is a crash or something loud happens onscreen. I have NHT superones, superzeros and supercenter hooked up and connections are solid. Do you think this would be fixed and adding an outboard amp?? I'm scared to drop the money if that's not the fix.

#11 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 03 2002 - 12:09 AM

Michael,
It sounds like your "Yammy" is going into protection mode. I'll bet it was designed to drive 8 Ohm speakers and you NHT's are 4 Ohm or the have some impedence dips based on frequency. Try some different speakers and see what happens.

-Robert

#12 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert Ma

Robert Ma

    Second Unit



  • 370 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 18 2001

Posted January 03 2002 - 12:47 AM

Michael,

I agree with Robert_J. And if thats the problem an external amp for 4 ohm speakers would be the fix.

Bob

#13 of 15 OFFLINE   Jim Carr

Jim Carr

    Second Unit



  • 250 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2001

Posted January 03 2002 - 12:47 AM

Uh oh. I just ordered an Onkyo 898 with NHT sc-1 for center and super zeroes for the other 6 channels.. will I have this problem?

Robert, as always.. you are the man!

thanks,

Jim

#14 of 15 OFFLINE   Michael BMF Martin

Michael BMF Martin

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2001

Posted January 03 2002 - 01:42 AM

Quote:
I'll bet it was designed to drive 8 Ohm speakers and you NHT's are 4 Ohm or the have some impedence dips based on frequency


I just checked my speakers and receiver and all are 8 ohm.

what would you do now??

#15 of 15 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 03 2002 - 02:28 AM

I'm not familiar with NHT speakers but you still may have an impedence dip that your receiver can't handle. Impedence isn't a flat line across the frequency spectrum, there are peaks and dips.

Post this question in the Home Theater Hardware section. There's a lot more traffic and maybe someone will have the same speakers/receiver combination.

-Robert