-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

soundbar and volume control with universal remotes


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 shay213

shay213

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2013
  • Real Name:Shaina

Posted November 09 2013 - 07:31 PM

We just got an LG LED/lcd tv and a samsung soundbar, but we can't set up the tv remote to simultaneously or individually control the sound on the soundbar. The bar itself is a used model, and did not come with a remote. Is it possible to buy a universal remote from say target or walmart and program it for both devices?

#2 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,284 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 09 2013 - 07:47 PM

Should be. But since we have no clue what your model numbers are...we can't download the owners manuals to tell you which page to read.

 

Some soundbars(like the Boston Acoustics TVee series) don't come with a remote and you follow a simple procedure...which would be in the manual to download from the internet if we knew the model number.



#3 of 7 shay213

shay213

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2013
  • Real Name:Shaina

Posted November 10 2013 - 05:12 AM

The soundbar is a Samsung HW-E450, and the TV is an LG 47LS4500.

#4 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,284 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 10 2013 - 07:07 AM

Hope you do the firmware update on the TV.

You might need to buy the remote for that soundbar for its initial setup.

The Amazon listing shows the number for it. I can't think of any universal remotes off the top of my head that contain a soundbar list. You might have to learn the remote.

#5 of 7 shay213

shay213

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2013
  • Real Name:Shaina

Posted November 10 2013 - 10:21 AM

What is a firmware update? I'm not up to par on modern tv technology.

#6 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,284 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 10 2013 - 10:22 AM

LG LCD TVs that year were sold missing the firmware to disable the 120hz...so those where stuck in perpetual Soap Opera.

 

Firmware update are all those updates that your computer, cell phone, Ipod etc have to do from time to time.

 

Any and all firmware updates for your TV will be at LG's website. And the instructions to do them(on yours, loaded to a flash drive).



#7 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,284 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 10 2013 - 10:32 AM

And here is the remote...

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item2c742a99fb






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users