Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Cell phone signal help : PLEASE................


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   nyg052003

nyg052003

    Agent



  • 42 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2008
  • Real Name:charles

Posted November 05 2013 - 04:41 AM

I have upgraded to a smart fone and my area of my yard and surroundings is a dead zone as told by verizon. I have a network extender in the house and it helps when in the house, though the other phone actually picked up better with it ( must have had a better antenna than my Samsung galaxy 3 . Outside in the yard anywhere not in the front of the yard, it pretty much is one bar, sometimes none and the signal is awful. Now that I have my mancave setup I will be spending alot of time in there and i need reliable , or better service at least. We had cell phone repeaters installed at the job that works great but I'm not trying to go expensive and just wondering what kind of cell phone signal boosters that might be plug and play that will help and won't require much installation or running alot of wires, digging holes, ect. Hoping maybe one of you guys had a similiar issue that you might can tell me what you did. And hopefully it will help outside as well but even if its placed inside of cave and works only in there mostly, i will be happy. I can always go outside in the cave and talk.



#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,249 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted November 05 2013 - 06:43 AM

Also wondering if cell phone boosters really work.

 

Have a dead zone right in my home office.

 

Look forward to replies


 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#3 of 10 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,191 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 05 2013 - 07:09 AM

Wilson Electronics.

#4 of 10 OFFLINE   Dave B Ferris

Dave B Ferris

    Supporting Actor



  • 761 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2000

Posted November 05 2013 - 08:07 AM

Also, while this may not be a "cure-all", if you have 3G, I would at least try using *228 (if you have not already done so) to make sure your roaming profile is updated to correspond to any new towers in your area.  Verizon told me that *228 can prolong battery life, help obtain a stronger signal and reduce dropped calls.



#5 of 10 OFFLINE   nyg052003

nyg052003

    Agent



  • 42 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2008
  • Real Name:charles

Posted November 05 2013 - 09:02 AM

Also, while this may not be a "cure-all", if you have 3G, I would at least try using *228 (if you have not already done so) to make sure your roaming profile is updated to correspond to any new towers in your area.  Verizon told me that *228 can prolong battery life, help obtain a stronger signal and reduce dropped calls.

as far as i know and have googled,
* 228 doesn't work with 4G which i have.

 

To shan, are you recommending that and are you saying it is the answer to my problems lol?



#6 of 10 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,191 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 05 2013 - 09:31 AM

as far as i know and have googled,
* 228 doesn't work with 4G which i have.

To shan, are you recommending that and are you saying it is the answer to my problems lol?


Yes

#7 of 10 OFFLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Casual Enthusiast



  • 2,770 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted November 05 2013 - 10:00 AM

Ron - I have AT&T cell phone service and have to use a MicroCell (femtocell) in my home because there is little to no signal inside. With the MicroCell, I usually have full signal. It needs to sit by a window because AT&T requires a GPS lock for it to stay functional. Other than that, it connects to my broadband and functions like VoIP. I think Verizon also makes one and calls theirs a network extender. I don't know about Sprint.



#8 of 10 OFFLINE   Dave B Ferris

Dave B Ferris

    Supporting Actor



  • 761 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2000

Posted November 05 2013 - 10:27 AM

I don't know about Sprint.

 

Sprint calls theirs an "Airave" (or "Air Rave").  I know somebody who I consider to be highly technical who said it was difficult to install, and ultimately did not improve signal strength very much. 



#9 of 10 OFFLINE   nyg052003

nyg052003

    Agent



  • 42 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 2008
  • Real Name:charles

Posted November 05 2013 - 11:21 AM

Ron - I have AT&T cell phone service and have to use a MicroCell (femtocell) in my home because there is little to no signal inside. With the MicroCell, I usually have full signal. It needs to sit by a window because AT&T requires a GPS lock for it to stay functional. Other than that, it connects to my broadband and functions like VoIP. I think Verizon also makes one and calls theirs a network extender. I don't know about Sprint.

verizon actually sent me the network extender about 3 yrs ago. I am going to move it to the window of the room it's in to see if that helps. I only have one telephone jack that's working so it's location is limited to that one bedroom so i will move it to the window and see if it helps. If not, I i will need to continue to see about improving the signal



#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Casual Enthusiast



  • 2,770 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted November 06 2013 - 05:55 AM

Dave - I can't speak for the Sprint Airave, but AT&T's microcell took about 5 minutes to install and another 5 minutes (or less) to register using AT&T's microcell iOS app. The hardest part was waiting 45 minutes for it to acquire GPS lock and download new firmware before it went active. I've had it for three years and there is an absolute difference in signal strength and call quality after installation.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users