What's new

Newbie having problems (1 Viewer)

redlabelrocks

Auditioning
Real Name
john
I just bought a Yamaha Receiver (RX-V375), that has both RCA, HDMI and Cable Coax Connectors. My DVD player is a Sony model , that only has the digital coax connectors or HDMI output. My tv doesn't have HDMI but does have RCA connectors. So far I've been able to get sound from the DVD but no video on the HDMI. Nothing on the Coax. I have the cable box plugged into the receiver, and I get picture and sound on that. What am I missing here?

redlabelrocks

Auditioning
Real Name
john
Thanks, I didn't know that they made those. Like I said, I'm new to this and was getting frustrated. I'll get one in the am and let you all know how it turns out!

redlabelrocks

Auditioning
Real Name
john
Got the cable today, patched the dvd player straight to the tv, and of course no sound, but I did have video. Hooked it into the receiver, and now I have sound, but no video. So I know that the dvd player and tv work, now I need help trying to track down the problem within the receiver. I went through the setup menus, but have come up with nothing so far. Any ideas/hints?

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
You probably screwed up HDCP.

Turn it all off, unplug it all from the wall, unhook the hdmi.

Wait half an hour.

Connect the HDMI
Plug it all into the wall
Turn on the AVR(must, must...must be first)
Turn on the TV
Turn on the DVD player.

redlabelrocks

Auditioning
Real Name
john
What is HDCP? I am sorry for asking so many questions, but I've gotten really frustrated with this thing because I know it's going to be something simple and that I should have caught it. Thanks for your patience and help!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
By the way. 99.999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999% of...

"I have audio but no video from my DVD/BD to AVR to TV..."

Is you screwed up the HDCP handshake.