Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sub not putting out bass


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 12:15 AM

I recently purchased a RX-V575 receiver and am having trouble getting my subwoofer to work. All of my speakers (Epic Sound 7.1) are working fine but I am not getting any bass from my sub. I have a non-powered subwoofer with only 2 input and 2 output speaker wire connections. I tried using the bi-amp ports with the bi-amp option enabled but that did not work. I tried hooking my sub up to the front speaker ports but that did not work either (though when I chained the front speakers from the sub, they worked fine). I am positive the sub works and that the wires/connections/positive and negatives are all correct and working.

 

Since I am completely new to sound systems I had a friend help me set some of them up yesterday. The sub was working fine then but I did not have enough wire to set it up like I wanted. After buying wire today, unhooking what he had done previously and getting everything laid out like I wanted, I ran into the problem with my sub. He said he hooked the sub up through the front speaker ports which is why I tried it like that tonight (He was drunk and I do not recall where from where I unplugged the sub.) The guy at bestbuy is the one who suggested using the bi-amp ports.

 

 



#2 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 07:34 AM

Bi-amp means you lose 7.1.Did you set the AVR up in "bi-amp mode"? (Didn't realise the 575 had bi-amp, thought you had to get the 675).Otherwise, with this sub, there won't be a .1. You run the sub inline with the main channel. There is probably no point, nor need, to even care about bi-amp.

#3 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 08:14 AM

I did set it up in bi-amp mode but all that did was push out a little bass from my front speakers...still nothing from my sub. I do not understand why I am not getting any bass now even though I was when my buddy first connected it.

 

What do you mean run the sub inline with the main channel?



#4 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 08:34 AM

Your subwoofer has speaker in and out, ie...inline.That is the only real way to hook it up.

#5 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 08:50 AM

Sorry. I am a total noob when it comes to sound systems and still am not excatly sure what you mean by inline. How would I go about doing that and would that give any bass from my sub? I live in apartment complex so I am not too concerned with having wall-shaking bass, just a little bit is fine with me.



#6 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:13 AM

Repeating...

Your subwoofer has speaker in and out, ie...inline.That is the only real way to hook it up.

You are the one who provided the information on the speaker in/out.

#7 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:17 AM

Your set up...AVR front channels to the sub. Sub to the main speakers.Set the AVR itself as "no subwoofer", but you can still use the bass management for the center/surrounds.

#8 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:40 AM

Now, if you want .1.Buy an external amp(such as the HTD SDA-100) and perform 10 minutes of subwoofer re-wiring.1. Pull the speaker terminal out(it has screws)2. Disconnect the "innards"*.3. Connect the driver leads*.4. Put the speaker terminal back in.*Post a picture of what the inside speaker terminal looks like. Anybody here with knowledge on bypassing an internal amp(or in this case, a crossover) can tell you what to pull and reconnect. I've been doing this long enough that, for me, step 1-4 would take 5 minutes.

#9 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:41 AM

Your set up...AVR front channels to the sub. Sub to the main speakers.Set the AVR itself as "no subwoofer", but you can still use the bass management for the center/surrounds.

 

This seems to be the most common way to run my type of system from what I have been reading/hearing but its still not working. I will triple check my wiring (though I dont think the fronts would work if the wiring was wrong.) If that all looks good I guess the sub needs to be tested independently on an amp to make sure its operational.



#10 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:51 AM

Also depends on what you are listening to.Internet music(Spotify, iTunes, mp3, etc) won't have much bass. Neither will radio.You need a CD, DVD or BD.Also, have you set the AVR as "no subwoofer". If it is set "yes there is a subwoofer", it won't do anything.

#11 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 09:55 AM

When my buddy originally hooked it up, I was getting very loud bass from each bullet being fired in GTAV and tons of it to the metallica I was playing through my computer. I had not even messed with any settings in my AVR when all this happened. it was only when I rewired that the bass just stopped.

 

it is set to "no subwoofer"



#12 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 10:00 AM

Is the AVR in bi-amp mode?

#13 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 10:32 AM

I tried hooking my amp directly to the bi-amp ports on my AVR and put it in bi-amp mode (and tried normal mode), nothing. tried normal and bi-amp modes while plugged into the front speaker ports as well, nothing.



#14 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 10:39 AM

The next step is to remove the speaker terminal and check to see if a wire fell off somewhere inside.

#15 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 12:49 PM

After reading up on what I have and possible solutions for my problem, I am kind of leaning toward buying a powered sub. The speakers/sub I have did not cost me one penny and im only $450 in on the AVR and all the cables (wire/hdmis/opticals/surge protector) so another 200 or so for a decent sub seems worth it to bring the whole package together. I ran across a $500 12inch sub for $200 at some point last night but I am unable to find it again. Ill browse a little and see what I can find. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated especially as far as specs go. I really have no idea what I am looking for, what my AVR can handle, etc etc.



#16 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 01:29 PM

Love it when I get home and can research speakers.Us the "brand" of these Epic Sound. Or are these Epos?

#17 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 03:46 PM

I cant find any new Epic Sound products. From what I have read that are a very small and shitty company (idk if they still exist). Ive been looking at a few subs on amazon in the $250-$250 range that seem okay but I have no idea what to look for in a good sub.



#18 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 04:00 PM

Any one of these is more than enough...

 

BIC V1220/F12

Lava (their direct website)

Dayton Sub1200



#19 of 28 OFFLINE   mits3kgtvr4

mits3kgtvr4

    Auditioning



  • 14 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2013
  • Real Name:Jeff

Posted September 30 2013 - 04:52 PM

I like the F12 out of those but I cant tell if it has an auto setting like the Dayton does. Seems like the F12 puts out a little more from what I have read



#20 of 28 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,613 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 30 2013 - 07:31 PM

Your AVR has bass management. There are no controls on any sub you care about...other than gain.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users