Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Netflix Streaming upgraded to include 3D


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#61 of 80 ONLINE   Ejanss

Ejanss

    Screenwriter



  • 1,869 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2012

Posted March 13 2014 - 05:29 PM

Croods 3D has been added.

 

Seems that Netflix and Dreamworks' partnership is still solid--

In addition to plugging an "exclusive" half-hour (2D) featurette for Mr. Peabody & Sherman, the 3D version of Turbo is now available, for those who, er......probably missed it in theaters.

(And yes, that's the movie, not the cheesy-looking Nicktoon series, although they put in a promo for that too.)

 

At this rate, I should probably not bother to rush to the theaters for MP&S3D, it'll probably be up by fall.



#62 of 80 OFFLINE   RJ992

RJ992

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 181 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 07 2010

Posted April 03 2014 - 03:41 PM

Anyone know why Netflix 3D is available on the Sony 5100 but NOT on the higher-end flagship, dual-HDMI 790????



#63 of 80 OFFLINE   John Maher_289910

John Maher_289910

    Second Unit



  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2013
  • Real Name:John Maher

Posted April 04 2014 - 05:39 AM

I've never been successful at getting any 3D content from Netflix to play in 3D.  It's always in 2D.  I suppose I'm doing something wrong, but I have no clue what it is.



#64 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted April 04 2014 - 08:05 AM

I've never been successful at getting any 3D content from Netflix to play in 3D.  It's always in 2D.  I suppose I'm doing something wrong, but I have no clue what it is.

 

Does it say its in 3D? If yes, and you cannot play in 3D its probably your connection speed is too slow.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#65 of 80 OFFLINE   John Maher_289910

John Maher_289910

    Second Unit



  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2013
  • Real Name:John Maher

Posted April 04 2014 - 10:39 AM

Yes, it says it's 3D.  Wouldn't having too slow a connection have some sort of indicator?  I click on a 3D title, and it plays in 2D.  I have Neflix, via my LG TV, LG 3D Blu-ray player, TiVo and Roku.  It works on none of those.  All are all directly connected.  Not WiFi.  Maybe it's a FIOS thing?  I know it required fast service, but I've never had a single issue with any connections.  Even with multiple people connected, we never experience any slow downloads. Normal streaming works beautifully.  I tend to think it's something else, but if I need a faster connection, I have no clue how to do that.  I have the fastest that FIOS offers.



#66 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted April 04 2014 - 10:52 AM

Does it start to dowload (shows 20%, 30%, etc. loading) but then gives you a message of "retry or play it in 2D" ? I get that sometimes. Other times it just starts playing it in 3D.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#67 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted April 04 2014 - 03:10 PM

I'm using a Sony PS3 and I first get the prompt "Do you want to play this title in 3D?". Select YES and then "3d signal has been detected" from the Sony KDL55NX810 TV.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#68 of 80 ONLINE   Ejanss

Ejanss

    Screenwriter



  • 1,869 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2012

Posted April 05 2014 - 07:50 PM

Does it start to dowload (shows 20%, 30%, etc. loading) but then gives you a message of "retry or play it in 2D" ? I get that sometimes. Other times it just starts playing it in 3D.

 

Retry, darnit!  (Just means your connection isn't quick enough, but you'll still be able to get it in bits and pieces while it reloads.  If you give it long enough to reload.)



#69 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted April 06 2014 - 06:48 AM

PS3:

15 Mps Download

6 Mps Upload

 

PC:

45 Mps Download

12 Mps Upload


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#70 of 80 OFFLINE   Everett Stallings

Everett Stallings

    Second Unit



  • 393 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 24 1998
  • Real Name:Everett
  • LocationWilmington,De

Posted April 06 2014 - 07:12 AM

Yes, it says it's 3D.  Wouldn't having too slow a connection have some sort of indicator?  I click on a 3D title, and it plays in 2D.  I have Neflix, via my LG TV, LG 3D Blu-ray player, TiVo and Roku.  It works on none of those.  All are all directly connected.  Not WiFi.  Maybe it's a FIOS thing?  I know it required fast service, but I've never had a single issue with any connections.  Even with multiple people connected, we never experience any slow downloads. Normal streaming works beautifully.  I tend to think it's something else, but if I need a faster connection, I have no clue how to do that.  I have the fastest that FIOS offers.

Go to Speed Test.com to check your speed. Good luck!!!


  • John Maher_289910 likes this
Former projectionist @ all downtown theatres in Balto. City.Which are all closed. frown.gif

#71 of 80 OFFLINE   John Maher_289910

John Maher_289910

    Second Unit



  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2013
  • Real Name:John Maher

Posted April 07 2014 - 05:01 AM

Does it start to dowload (shows 20%, 30%, etc. loading) but then gives you a message of "retry or play it in 2D" ? I get that sometimes. Other times it just starts playing it in 3D.

No.  There's never any download issue or question or anything.  It just starts playing in 2D.



#72 of 80 OFFLINE   Jesse Skeen

Jesse Skeen

    Producer



  • 4,047 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 1999

Posted April 07 2014 - 10:11 PM

My stuff still doesn't support 3D, but I've heard the new Netflix software also breaks into the end credits to promote crap- if that's the case I guess I can live without it.


Home video oddities, old commercials and other junk: http://www.youtube.com/user/eyeh8nbc

#73 of 80 OFFLINE   John Maher_289910

John Maher_289910

    Second Unit



  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2013
  • Real Name:John Maher

Posted April 08 2014 - 05:40 AM

Go to Speed Test.com to check your speed. Good luck!!!

It registered 31.78 mbps  - the Netflix page says I need minimum of 6mbps and best at 12 mbps.  No clue why I can't do this.



#74 of 80 OFFLINE   Moe Dickstein

Moe Dickstein

    Filmmaker



  • 3,149 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2001
  • Real Name:T R Wilkinson
  • LocationSherman Oaks, CA

Posted April 08 2014 - 01:58 PM

When I was first getting my 3D setup going, I ended up having an HDMI cable in the mix that wasn't up to spec for 3D - is it possible that could be the case?

I just got error messages until I replaced it and then it finally all worked.
Yes, these strange things happen all the time - PT Anderson, Magnolia

#75 of 80 OFFLINE   John Maher_289910

John Maher_289910

    Second Unit



  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2013
  • Real Name:John Maher

Posted April 08 2014 - 04:40 PM

Well, all my 3D Blu-rays look incredible.  I'm just giving up on the streaming.  It's not like there's a lot I want to see, anyway.



#76 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted April 16 2014 - 04:23 PM

Seems that Netflix and Dreamworks' partnership is still solid--

In addition to plugging an "exclusive" half-hour (2D) featurette for Mr. Peabody & Sherman, the 3D version of Turbo is now available, for those who, er......probably missed it in theaters.

(And yes, that's the movie, not the cheesy-looking Nicktoon series, although they put in a promo for that too.)

 

At this rate, I should probably not bother to rush to the theaters for MP&S3D, it'll probably be up by fall.

 

Croods and Turbo still on Netflix but not in 3D


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#77 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted October 18 2014 - 05:53 AM

Just checked and only 19 3D titles (The Hole, Turtle's Tale, etc.) listed under their 3D grouping.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#78 of 80 OFFLINE   Tino

Tino

    Producer



  • 5,642 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 19 1999
  • Real Name:Valentino
  • LocationMetro NYC

Posted October 18 2014 - 06:48 AM

There are others not listed under 3D
It's gonna be a hell of a ride. I'm ready. .

#79 of 80 ONLINE   RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter



  • 2,398 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted October 18 2014 - 12:48 PM

There are others not listed under 3D

 

Yes, I contacted the tech staff at Netflix and they will try to get this fixed soon.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#80 of 80 OFFLINE   Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    All Things Film Junkie



  • 4,078 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted October 21 2014 - 08:08 AM

And no 3D titles are available for streaming in Canada, which is bloody annoying.


  • Towergrove likes this
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users