-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

JVC HDMI Problem

3D Blu-ray

Best Answer RolandL , August 15 2013 - 04:39 AM

Connect the blu-ray player to the TV. Take the digital audio out from the TV and connect it to the receiver.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#21 of 33 Juan Pegler

Juan Pegler

    Auditioning

  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2013

Posted August 15 2013 - 10:20 PM

I tried all 3 HDMI ports on the TV. I have 2 x 1.3 HDMI Cables and 2 x 1.4 and I have tried Both 1.4 cables.



#22 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 16 2013 - 05:01 AM

I highly doubt that. But ever since Sony went "i-manual" they've left out every single "note" that every other manufacturer includes in a paper manual that says you only get 2.0 from incoming HDMI.

 

Besides, you don't get lossless at all, even if DD does work. And you won't get DTS either, as the TV can't support DTS.

 

So when my receiver shows Dolby Digital 5.1 on it screen you think it's lying to me?

 

His receiver doesn't do lossless so thats a moot point.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#23 of 33 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,600 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 16 2013 - 05:19 AM

To the OP. Not sure what to tell you.

 

I went through this myself yesterday swapping out a BD player and two DVD players down to one region free BD and a DVD player that does DSD over HDMI.

 

I turned everything off, flipped the power switch to the "electronics wall", let it all sit while I brewed some coffee.

 

With my cup of coffee in hand, took about 45 minutes swapping out and dusting at the same time. That was  with the power out for  20 minutes already. 

 

An hour later it was time to flip the power switch and turn stuff on. I had no problems and I was shocked. One of the items I swapped in was a Pioneer/Elite DV49. Thankfully it wasn't the "HDMI rain dance and seance" the outgoing DV420 was.

 

And to Roland. Every single other TV I've ran across(I haven't dealt with a Sony TV since Sony became irrelevant 8 years ago) does not pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI. They even say so in the manual. Maybe Sony plays nice with the PS3 in that regard. Anyway, using your TV "as the AV hub" is never done...ever.



#24 of 33 Juan Pegler

Juan Pegler

    Auditioning

  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2013

Posted August 16 2013 - 05:31 AM

I am also clueless at this point. But I do appreciate you trying. I am going to mark this as "solved" Because I will just be happy that I don't have to get rid of my sound or TV and that I can use it VIA Optical.



#25 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 16 2013 - 07:39 AM

...And to Roland. Every single other TV I've ran across(I haven't dealt with a Sony TV since Sony became irrelevant 8 years ago) does not pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI. They even say so in the manual. Maybe Sony plays nice with the PS3 in that regard. Anyway, using your TV "as the AV hub" is never done...ever.

 

It is done when your TV is 3D ready and your old receiver is not. This is my setup for the Sony TV in the family room. The Sony does have an option to send the sound to the TV speakers or "audio system". If TV is selected, the receiver gets 2.0. If "audio system" is selected, its 5.1.

 

The manual does say it passes 5.1, see below

 

http://docs.esupport...enu_uc_col.html

 

For my home theatre room, I connect cable box, Blu-ray 3D and HD-DVD players to my Denon receiver through HDMI and then HDMI from receiver to Panasonic AE8000 projector.


Edited by RolandL, August 16 2013 - 07:54 AM.

Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#26 of 33 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,600 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 16 2013 - 08:14 AM

And your link says "output TV sound".

Not audio from something else.

#27 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 18 2013 - 07:39 AM

And your link says "output TV sound".

Not audio from something else.

 

Give it up Sam. You lost. Admit it. It says "Dolby Digital" and displays 5 speakers and the sub woofer on the receiver.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#28 of 33 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,600 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 18 2013 - 07:52 AM

No I haven't "lost".

 

You have a PS3 connected to a Sony TV. Maybe Sony lets HDMI 5.1 audio pass from Sony products.

 

Your TV is in the .04%* of TV out there that pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI. Period, end of story.

 

*And yes...

.04%



#29 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 18 2013 - 08:28 AM

Finally!


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#30 of 33 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,600 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 18 2013 - 08:52 AM

Finally!

:rolleyes:

 

You are the one missing out on lossless audio and DTS with the connection the way it is.

 

Or do you just use your PS3 as a glorified Roku...



#31 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 18 2013 - 12:43 PM

:rolleyes:

 

You are the one missing out on lossless audio and DTS with the connection the way it is.

 

Or do you just use your PS3 as a glorified Roku...

 

I'm not missing out on anything. 

 

If I want lossless and DTS for sound, watch a 2D or 3D movie, I go to my home theatre room with a 138 inch wide screen.

 

If I want to play a video game or watch a TV show in my family room, I have my 55 inch Sony and 5.1 Dolby Digital sound.


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 


#32 of 33 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,600 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 18 2013 - 01:34 PM

I'm not missing out on anything. 

 

If I want lossless and DTS for sound, watch a 2D or 3D movie, I go to my home theatre room with a 138 inch wide screen.

 

If I want to play a video game or watch a TV show in my family room, I have my 55 inch Sony and 5.1 Dolby Digital sound.

 

Oh, so you expect your compromised secondary system to be the answer for everyone else...



#33 of 33 RolandL

RolandL

    Screenwriter

  • 2,272 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2001
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted August 18 2013 - 05:55 PM

?


Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 3D Blu-ray

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users